Asparagus Soup in Seconds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I just made this for lunch and it was wonderful. I added just enough chicken broth for the consistency I wanted and added touch of cream near the end of heating. Next time I'll probably skip the cream since it took away some of the asparagus taste. I'm now wondering what other canned veggies might be transformed into a soup with so little effort. Thanks for this quick and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
my mom has try to make it like the cafe's it didn't work out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I used asparagus left over from a big meal thinking fresh asparagus would beat canned asparagus any day but this recipe missed the mark for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was brilliant! I doubled the asparagus, cut down slightly on the chicken broth, and used half and half instead of milk. A dash of pepper, salt, cayenne, and worchesteshire spiced it up while finely diced peeled, boiled potatoes added heartiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Good taste. Used fresh cooked asparagus in season. Prefer a thicker soup. Tried a tablespoon of flour while blending, but not enough. Will try two-three tablespoons next time. Could skip butter and not miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I totally did not follow the directions on this but I still give it 5 stars. I drained the asparagus, put it in the blender, added chicken broth to about halfway, added milk to almost the top of asparagus, a dollop of sour cream, a splash of lemon juice, and a pinch of cayenne and a little garlic powder>> blended it all up in the blender at once and microwaved individual servings. Super good! Update: Tried to actually follow the directions this time and it wasn't nearly as good. I did not drain the asparagus... bland. I even used a good brand name (used generic the first time) and came out with so many strings it wasn't worth eating. I even put it back in the blender 2-3 times and it didn't help. I think I'll go back to the generic brand and drain it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made this with a bundle of fresh asparagus, salt free chicken broth and water and 1 tsp of Braggs seasoning. I also put some onion flakes, garlic powder, old bay and onion powder in it. I chopped the asparagus into 1.5" chunks, and boiled in liquid. I used a hand held mixer to blend into a creamy texture. I added a spoon full of fat free yogurt into it before serving to lighten the green color! Turned out great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Was short on time so I decided to try this recipe instead of using fresh asparagus. I made a few changes but it was yummy even before that. Here is my version: Vegetable broth instead of chicken Add 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice Add 1 clove fresh pressed garlic Add 1 tbsp herbed goat chevre to each serving bowl and pour soup over..... Beautiful and decedant touch from a shmancy restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I thought this was an excellent recipe. Easy and delicious. I used two cans of asparagus to thicken it, but otherwise, it was perfect. Thank you. gwriter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I did not care for this at all. The taste of the canned asparagus is still with me, and there was a bunch of stringy, hard pieces. Sorry...but go for the fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States