Asparagus Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I made these for my friend's baby shower. They turned out pretty well and I got a lot of compliments. They are a little time-consuming to put together, but not inordinately, and are otherwise simple and easy. I used shallots in the mayonaise mixture instead of regular onion. I am making them again for my sister's wedding shower next month, and I think I will use fresh, steamed asparagus. There's nothing better than fresh asparagus, and canned can be just too mushy. Most kids wouldn't go anywhere near these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I liked the recipe a lot, but something was missing. I buttered the bread, used chives instead of onion, and added chopped pimento. I served 60 of these at a party for a friend who had just passed the bar exam, and they were gone before all the guests had arrived! Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I was dissapointed in these. I think if I made them again I would use fresh asparagus instead. The canned kind was too mushy. It also seemed to be missing something to give it that extra zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I've eaten asparagus sandwiches all my life. This might be a nice dress up for appetizers but I leave out the onion and seasonings and just slap some mayo on some soft bread and load it up with the asparagus spears. I like 'em mushy from the can. Fresh or canned they are still fairly expensive so this is a once in awhile treat anyway. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I made these sandwiches for a club function and they were a huge success. I've been asked for several repeat performances. Easy, quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I thought they were just okay, however out of all the things that were served, I heard everyone commenting on how good these were...so I guess they are pretty good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Was very good, but yes, bland. The quality of the bread used matters a lot. Tried with buttered bread, or adding a bit of flavored soft cheese spread(aloutte) to the mayo and that helped, too. Very popular tea sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
After reading other reviews, I decided to make this recipe using fresh steamed asparagus. I also added an 8 oz. container of light garden vegetable cream cheese to the mayo along with one chopped scallion. Wrapped the asparagus in very thin sliced ham as well. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
While I've never been a fan of seasoned salt OR canned asparagus, I thought I'd give this recipe a shot. I did use sauteed asparagus(in OO) and it came out very good! I was very surprised with the seasoning salt, added a tasty touch to the mayo. I didn't make the rolled sandwiches, but a regular sandwich. I also used a bit of lettuce in the sandwich as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States