Asparagus, Potato, and Onion Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I'm trying my hardest at lowering my carb intake as well as getting in as many healthy ingredients/vegetables I can. Instead of potatoes, I subbed chopped cauliflower. I used half whole eggs/half egg whites, turkey ham and 2% sharp cheddar. Filling breakfast. My family noticed that their was cauliflower in it, but noone said anything. (Mom's just know.) I'd make this again. I liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I made it as is except I used sharp cheddar cheese because that it what I had on hand. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bagley-Dutil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe. My husband loved it. For those health conscious folks - I used Egg Beaters and spicy turkey sausage and it came out absolutely perfect.. I sprinkled dried basil on top as I didn't have fresh on hand. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Our family enjoyed this recipe. I had to change a couple of things (I know, I know) because I did not have all of the ingredients on hand. I used bacon instead of ham. YUM! I also used monterey jack cheese but I would try sharp cheddar cheese next time. I didn't have any basil so I chopped fresh rosemary and added it to the egg mix. It was so delicious and added a fresh herb flavor that made the dish, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This was a lot of work and not worth the trouble. I followed the recipe exactly and it was very bland. The potato gets lost somewhere - volume probably would be better using those frozen shredded hash browns if you can eat them. I may use the ingredients again, with more onion and no potato and just add beaten eggs to the mix in the skillet to cook, like an omelette. A lot less work, dishes, mess and quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This is really, really good. I made it the first time as written and it was delicious. The second time, I cubed the potatoes and let them get pretty well browned, increased the onion to 1/2 cup, and I used only gruyere cheese because that was all I had. OMG! - to die for! I love to serve this with sliced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda D

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
My family really liked this. I used two smallish red potatoes (maybe 5-6 oz each) and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was not worth the time and effort. The potatoes took too long to brown & they ended up in clumps. After 10 minutes of trying to get the asparagus tender, I had to remove ALL the asparagus and tenderize it in boiling water. At the price of asparagus I was not going to throw it away. My advice is to blanch the asparagus till tender, then add it to the potatoe mixture. This took away some of the seasonings. I topped it with a 4 cheese Italian shredded cheese. I managed to salvage the dish. I rated it only 2 stars because it was slightly bland, but too, too much trouble. I have had better asparagus, potato frittatas. I will NOT be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made this recipe for my dads birthday. I changed it a bit. He likes sausage and prefers Spanish. It worked out great! I added a little bit more of everything. I also added some uncle tonys to spice it up. I needed to feed a lot of people.I also added some swiss cheese. I was worried about is burning so I cooked it covered for 20 mins and then uncovered for 8 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States