Asparagus Portobello Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
If there were a zero star category, I would have given it that rating. Unless you LOVE the taste of CANNED vegetables, don't make this. I've been married for 31 years, and this was only the second dish I've ever made that my husband and I had to throw out because it was so awful. The first one happened the first year we were married. I thought I was pretty good at reading recipes and picking good ones, but this was truly bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very tasty - this is now a part of our family recipe repertoire for repeat performances. A couple of warnings, however: this is not a "mushroomy" sauce, despite all the mushrooms, and you'll wind up with way more sauce than pasta if you follow this recipe exactly. Instead, I found this better as a recipe for a sauce that can be served over your pasta of choice. The asparagus flavor is quite strong, but I didn't find that it overpowered the mushrooms, but rather complemented it. Canned asparagus and fresh asparagus have quite different flavors, and if you don't like the flavor of canned, go with fresh. Cooking it until it's very limp (similar to the texture of canned) will allow for easier blending. If you do use canned, do yourself a favor and buy quality stuff, not the cheap canned stalks&ends. My suggestions for improvement; onion and garlic fried up with the mushrooms, dice the mushroom instead of slicing, don't fry the peas, and mix the whole lot together and let it simmer for a little while so the flavors can marry. I also found that I didn't need any seasonings beyond a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
I had to add a small can of sauce to even get the blender to turn over to puree the mixture. The asparagus really overpowers the flavor and I used freshly cooked asparagus instead of canned. I cut off the tips to add to the mushrooms and peas on top. Overall my husband (the mushroom lover) OK'd the recipe, but my daughter and I had a hard time finishing our plate. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOULTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
First off, I never use canned peas or asparagus in anything. Fresh is always better. I would use just water to steam the asparagus. Cook noodles in water until al dente. Dice instead of puree the mixture of mushrooms, paste, etc. I would add a bit more garlic and some heavy whipping cream. Then serve over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This was very tasty to me. I did however use fresh asparagus instead of canned, I like the crunch of asparagus that isn't over cooked. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
Um.....this was good...my hubby and friend loved it..but I just don't like pasta......so make it yourself to see if it is good.....if you like pasta then this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I thought that the sauce was so flavorful and different from regular pasta sauce! It was like a party in my mouth! My husband was not on board with this recipe - he said that this "isn't his type of food", but I loved it. The portabella mushrooms on top were the perfect touch! They were so tender and the flavor was great! They added a great texture! However, as my husband evidenced, you really have to like "this type of food" - (ie - asparagus, olives, and mushrooms)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Not only was this easy to make, but it was very tasty! It looked a little bland, but the taste more than made up for the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
My family said this recipe should be rated F-. I followed this recipe exactly. The sauce was horrible. The pasta tasted great by itself and the mushrooms and peas were ok together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Made this with fresh asparagus (added a little water when blending) and fresh peas, so had great texture. Was nice but a little "ordinary" - nothing to rave about but very filling - a comfort food rather than a dinner party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States