Asparagus Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This turned out great. I followed the measurements exactly, but used a 1.5 qt. casserole dish so I baked it 55-60 minutes. It was delicious. My hubby loved it and I loved how easy it was to make. I will definitely make it again. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I too followed the recipe but added some leftover ham for a one dish meal. I did leave out the thyme. It's not a family favorite. Substituted with a bit of rosemary which I added to the asparagus while sauteing. There are so many ways you can make this dish your own while adding different ingredients. I think next time I just might try it has a Broccoli pie. What a great way to put veggies in the chidren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was quick and easy to make and tasted great! I added sliced mushrooms and we really liked it that way. The thyme gives it great flavor but if you're not a fan of thyme, skip it or add basil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The recipe states to cut the asparagus into 2inch pieces but the video states 1inch. One inch is better because it's easier to cut when dished up. The idea of sliced of mushrooms would add more flavor to this dish. The presentation is pretty and cuts easily out of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Nice, light texture and people at Easter church breakfast liked the hint of lemon. Buy medium-sized asparagus and include the tops. Use finely grated zest of 1 lemon & scant 1/2 tsp. ground thyme per 8" x 8 " recipe. Due to dairy allergy, made a non-dairy version by sub. unsweetened original almond milk for milk and olive oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSETTAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Great recipe, easily adaptable for type of meal and personal tastes. I wanted a main entree that was all inclusive. I made the recipe as presented with these additions: Sauteed fresh, sliced mushrooms with asparagus. Diced up some left over honey glazed ham and added to the batter. Used a pinch of thyme and basil in the batter. Prepared as written put in the oven. 20 minutes before taking out I topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and continued to bake until cheese started to crisp at the edges. Because of the ham I used unsalted butter and omitted the salt in the recipe. Put salt on the table for those who thought they needed it. Will definately use Chef John's recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Tasted great but don't use whole wheat flour since it doesn't solidify as well (found out the hard way). Added some sauteed onions, feta and garlic powder as well, which fixed the bland flavour others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This came out looking and tasting excellent, and for how little effort it took, I give it a "wow"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I used frozen asparagus, which was a huge mistake. I let it thaw out, but perhaps I didn't dry it enough because it was saturated with water from thawing out. I ended up using them anyway, following the instructions here. The pie came out tasting bitter, like grass! It's my own fault for using frozen and not fresh, but I wanted to share my experience should someone else do the same thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was my first attempt at a crustless pie, and my husband and I really liked it. Followed the recipe exactly and eating the leftovers for breakfast. A really good side dish for those who like asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States