Asparagus Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mflo
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This had great flavor, the lemon zest is a nice touch, otherwise might be bland. I added cooked turkey breast and during the last fifteen minutes of cooking added sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I'm sorry but the texture was a little mushy and reminded me of something I ate in childhood because it smelled like milk and eggs. I love Chef John's recipes but not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was very quick and easy (and made with ingredients most people have on hand), and my husband and I both enjoyed it. I loved the lemon zest, although he didn't like that part as much. I used 1/3 tsp of dried thyme because I didn't have any fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Not bad but can do with more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I saw this recipe in the first edition of the All Recipes Magazine. It really caught my eye, so I tried it tonight...and...well...meh...it was just okay. Moving on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyRandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Absolutely elegant!!! I added parmesan cheese and it was out of this world! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HarryLeeMartin
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I added ham to make it more entree like. Skipped the lemon zest (didn't have one) and didn't miss it. Sprinkled with cheddar cheese when I took it out of the oven. OMG -- soooo good! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made this as a side dish for my Easter Sunday dinner. It was easy and good. I had learned how to make clafouti from Chef John's blog a few years ago. Good video demonstration and easy to replicate at home. This time I used a narrower, taller 2 qt baking dish, and left it in a little longer. The low, wide Le Creuset baking dish works better I think. (Mine was otherwise occupied when I made the asparagus clafouti, so I had to resort to another dish.) This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kentuckyliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
We like asparagus. This was a nice change from roasted that I usually make. My husband thought it was ok; our friend really liked it. I added sauteed mushrooms, onion and a little garlic. Could not find lemon thyme, but I think it would definitely help with flavor. All and all...it was a nice vairation and looked great. I made in a 2 quart casserole dish which fit fine with the addition of mushrooms and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I am a HUGE Chef John's Fan......I have yet to make one of his recipes that I was not delighted with! I made this dish as a side for an Easter gathering and it was a hit. My husband continues to snack on the leftovers and say's every time you have to make this again. I did make a few adjustments mostly because I wanted to use some broccoli that I had before it went bad and while I was in the fridge, my fresh grated parmesan cheese was calling my name I love cheese so we had asparagus, broccoli and fresh garlic with a bit of parmesan cheese pie and it was perfect. I will try adding mushrooms in my next pie oh the opportunities are endless and of course I will pair with a great glass of wine! Bon Appetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justannie187

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States