Asparagus Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This turned out great. I followed the measurements exactly, but used a 1.5 qt. casserole dish so I baked it 55-60 minutes. It was delicious. My hubby loved it and I loved how easy it was to make. I will definitely make it again. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I too followed the recipe but added some leftover ham for a one dish meal. I did leave out the thyme. It's not a family favorite. Substituted with a bit of rosemary which I added to the asparagus while sauteing. There are so many ways you can make this dish your own while adding different ingredients. I think next time I just might try it has a Broccoli pie. What a great way to put veggies in the chidren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was quick and easy to make and tasted great! I added sliced mushrooms and we really liked it that way. The thyme gives it great flavor but if you're not a fan of thyme, skip it or add basil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is so good and so simple! My husband and i love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This came out looking and tasting excellent, and for how little effort it took, I give it a "wow"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Nice, light texture and people at Easter church breakfast liked the hint of lemon. Buy medium-sized asparagus and include the tops. Use finely grated zest of 1 lemon & scant 1/2 tsp. ground thyme per 8" x 8 " recipe. Due to dairy allergy, made a non-dairy version by sub. unsweetened original almond milk for milk and olive oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosettaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The recipe states to cut the asparagus into 2inch pieces but the video states 1inch. One inch is better because it's easier to cut when dished up. The idea of sliced of mushrooms would add more flavor to this dish. The presentation is pretty and cuts easily out of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was my first attempt at a crustless pie, and my husband and I really liked it. Followed the recipe exactly and eating the leftovers for breakfast. A really good side dish for those who like asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I liked that this recipe was very easy to make but I have to admit that it tasted bland to me. Yes the thyme and lemon added some flavor but it just tasted like it was missing something. I tried sprinkling cheese on top but that still didn't help. Maybe mushrooms or ham like previous reviewers had done would fix it. Honestly, I'm not that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I liked this because I just love the taste of asparagus ... but that's all it tasted like was asparagus, really. No other flavors stood out. DH didn't care for it at all. I took it to a pot luck since it is to be served room temp, but it was tough to eat with a plastic fork. I might try the technique again with added spices and flavors to make it special (maybe feta, or goat cheese and bacon, or savory, sage, and parmesan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States