Asparagus Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is a great basic recipe but can be changed to suit tastes. I added some shredded cheddar cheese and it came out great. Mushrooms and ham are also great addition ideas. I also think it would be good with crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Tasted great but don't use whole wheat flour since it doesn't solidify as well (found out the hard way). Added some sauteed onions, feta and garlic powder as well, which fixed the bland flavour others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was an easy recipe. It just lacked flavor. Maybe using additives such as, sauted mushrooms would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Had some asparagus to use up so tried this recipe and it was very good. simple to put to together, follwed recipe exactly and was very happy with outcome, husband had 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I used frozen asparagus, which was a huge mistake. I let it thaw out, but perhaps I didn't dry it enough because it was saturated with water from thawing out. I ended up using them anyway, following the instructions here. The pie came out tasting bitter, like grass! It's my own fault for using frozen and not fresh, but I wanted to share my experience should someone else do the same thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Awesome! Skipped the lemon and added a smidgen of cayenne pepper, also added ham chunks and a layer of shredded cheese to make this a main course. Went over really well and I will definitely make this again. Can do just about anything with this dish, can't wait to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
OK I followed the directions to a T, plus added fresh chives from my garden and sliced almonds plus shredded cheese, still something missing, it was Ok but still missing something would make it again must experiment.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I liked this because I just love the taste of asparagus ... but that's all it tasted like was asparagus, really. No other flavors stood out. DH didn't care for it at all. I took it to a pot luck since it is to be served room temp, but it was tough to eat with a plastic fork. I might try the technique again with added spices and flavors to make it special (maybe feta, or goat cheese and bacon, or savory, sage, and parmesan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I liked that this recipe was very easy to make but I have to admit that it tasted bland to me. Yes the thyme and lemon added some flavor but it just tasted like it was missing something. I tried sprinkling cheese on top but that still didn't help. Maybe mushrooms or ham like previous reviewers had done would fix it. Honestly, I'm not that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was my first attempt at a crustless pie, and my husband and I really liked it. Followed the recipe exactly and eating the leftovers for breakfast. A really good side dish for those who like asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States