Asparagus Oregenato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2001
This was very easy to make, but I thought it was terrible. I went with the previous reviewer and cut down on the bread crumbs. I have a feeling there is something missing from this recipe. I thought it was a waste of a great vegetable. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Oh my goodness. You have to love asparagus to love this recipe! Just get out a frying pan. Melt the butter, add breadcrumbs to cover the bottom of the pan, whatever darned seasonings you like, fresh steamed or canned asparagus... flip when the bottom is browned and eat it. Add the cheese if you wish. We love this stuff, and serve it at every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Next time I make this, I will use 1/2 the bread crumbs called for in the recipe. There were way too many and it overpowered the taste of the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
REALLY good! I used probably less than 1/2 the breadcrumbs called for though because I wanted to taste more of the asparagus. I also omitted the butter and tossed asparagus with small amount olive oil before adding the breadcrumbs. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I will agree....TOO MANY BREADCRUMBS. Also, I added some crushed garlic for flavor while cooking. I do not like asparagus, but husband loves it. He wasn't a huge fan of this. Says he likes the "other" way I make it much better. Guess I will have to keep trying. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
We loved this recipe. I served it with grilled steaks. It was perfect. I'm sure I used more Parmesan cheese than the recipe called for--but when it comes to cheese, the more the better, right? One tip--use fresh grated Parmesan. The stuff in a can doesn't melt well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I made this pretty much as listed. I think next time I will cut the spears up and probably put them in olive oil and then in bread crumbs. This tasted delicious but the crumbs formed a crust that made you eat it separately from the spears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RugbyChica
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Overall, good recipe. You definitely can cut back on the bread crumbs, probably about half what the recipe calls for. What I did was I coated each asparagus spear in whipped egg and then rolled it in the bread crumb mixture, just like you would if you were making breaded chicken or fish. It takes a little more time, but the result is great. Each spear has a nice coating of the bread crumbs, but you still have the great asparagus taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RugbyChica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
The first time I made it I used the butter and the asparagus came out somewhat mushy. The second time, I forgot to put the butter in and I cut the asparagus up in smaller bites and it was crispy and crunchy! Very Excellent! It's a rave with family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This recipe was awful. I made it on father's day and almost all of it was left, and my family loves asparagus. They all thought it was missing something. It was way too much bread crumbs and I felt it needed something to moisten the crumbs, like perhaps cream of mushroom soup with a little milk. What a waste of aspargus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States