Asparagus, Orange and Endive Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I am in love with this recipe. I made some changes that I think compliment its simple style: First, I too used canned mandarin oranges, and added about 2 tbsp of that liquid to the dressing, which sort of cut through the vinegar nicely. I also added some chopped avocado, crumbled blue cheese, and smokehouse almonds to the salad - totally divine combinations! I also used spring mix, as did another reviewer. For the dressing, I substituted Raspberry vingegar with some Fig Vinegar I had in the house, and that worked perfectly. Thanks so much! I've already made this salad twice this week - and it's only Wednesday. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Delicious and refreshing salad. I tweaked it a little bit according to what I had on hand. I used baby spinach instead of endive, green onion instead of red onion, and raspberry balsamic vinegar instead of raspberry vinegar. I also added some sliced, grilled chicken breast to make it a main dish salad and sprinkled sliced almonds over the top. It was a great light supper for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
I loved this recipe and passed it on to my sister who has now made it twice for dinner parties. We changed two things. We use raspberry BALSAMIC vinegar instead of plain raspberry vinegar and added a few sprinkles of feta cheese. It got rave reviews when both of us made it! BRAVO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This is my favorite salad ever,and I am super picky. I took the advice and used mandarin oranges, and mixed the left over juice (instead of the the oj) with the raspberry vinagrette, sugar and olive oil. I also added candied pecans, gorgonzola and cherry tomatoes. There is nothing better than this combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
I was assigned to be the "Salad Guy" at a potluck BBQ that I co-hosted last night. I went online to find a different kind of salad other than a bland green one and came across this one. After serving it last night, it was an instant hit! Everyone was asking me for the recipe so I gave them the website address instead. The only thing I varied was that I used 1/4 of the red onion instead of a whole one and everyone still thought it was a main ingredient if not part of the salad's name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
We liked this-the flavors of the endive combined with sweet oranges balanced each other nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This is wonderful. I added toasted pecans. Really good dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Good salad. I added some raspberry vinegarette to cut down on the tanginess. Great with some feta cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I made this salad for Easter dinner. It was fabulous! I too used canned mandarin oranges as suggested by another user.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This excellent! I served it too some leary folks and everyone loved it. I also used only half the onion because of the strong taste of red onion. I also added toasted walnuts for some extra protein. Great summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States