Asparagus Mushroom Bacon Crustless Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I really liked the flavors in this quiche, but it seems as though 1 1/2 cups of heavy cream would have been too much. I stopped at 1 cup after pouring and I'm glad I did. The combination of swiss, asparagus, baby bella mushrooms, and of course BACON makes a delicious quiche. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Oh my goodness this is delicious! Hubby and I decided we were in the mood for breakfast for dinner, so I decided to make this quiche. I made it exactly as written and it was FABULOUS! The eggs have such an amazing creamy taste; I could just eat them plain! All the other ingredients go so well together. I wouldn't change a thing! I can see myself making this for company as it's very impressive. I like that this has no crust, so I can fit it into my low-carb diet. Thanks for the great recipe, Nikki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Thank you, thank you for submitting this recipe! My husband and I are on Atkins and doing the Phase 1 Induction. Allrecipes.com is my go-to site for recipes, and just by chance I thought I'd use Atkins Induction as my search criteria. This is the only recipe that came up and it looks a.MA.zing. Thanks again! (PS - Love all the helpful reviews!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Unbelievably good! The combination of crimini mushrooms, Swiss, bacon and asparagus was perfect. I always thought that a "flavorful" quiche had to have tomatoes and cheddar. And, HAD to have a crust. This recipe has changed my mind. I only added 1 cup cream, and added in two more eggs. The texture was perfect, it rose up beautifully, and it was cooked consistently throughout. May add a bit more Swiss cheese next time. My family asked that I make this for our Christmas morning brunch. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Excellent flavor from the combination of asparagus, mushroom, bacon, and Swiss cheese. The generous use of heavy whipping cream in the egg mixture produces a fluffy (airy) custard. That was fine for a change of pace but prefer a slightly denser version. Thankfully, followed several reviewer’s suggestions to use only 1 cup heavy whipping cream (vs. 1-1/2 cups), and subbing milk for the difference. Because the flavor is so good, I’ll make this again but experiment with 1-1/2 cups half & half to better suit our tastes while eliminating about 90g fat/750 kcal from the entire quiche. A very good dish overall that can easily be customized to suit individual preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by brcambc
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Experiment - always fun with quiche. This is a modified version of Nikki's recipe. I break the asparagus and use the lower portion for sauteing along with the other ingredients: bacon, red pepper, mushrooms, garlic, and a blend of 4 cheeses. The top of the asparagus is not cooked before setting it on top of the quiche before baking - cooks up well in the oven. Toss in some cayenne pepper or other hot-stuff if you like. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was my first ever attempt at a quiche. I wanted to try crustless since I am trying to maintain a low carb diet. Made it for my wife and I and could not have been happier. Easy to follow recipe and tasted fantastic. My wife l loved it and took leftovers to work to brag on her husband the cook. She said it's too bad we didn't take a picture of it since it was so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by level01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I HAVE MADE THIS RECIPE FOR YEARS BUT ALWAYS JUST USED 1 C WHOLE MILK AND ADDED 1-1/2 TSP OF BOUQUET GARNI SPICE. I SOMETIMES OMIT THE MUSHROOMS AND ADD 3 CHOPPED GREEN ONIONS IF FEEDING KIDDIES. THE BOUQUET GARNI SPICE (BY SPICE ISLANDS) MAKES THIS DISH. I BAKE @ 375 FOR ABOUT 45 MIN. UNTIL GOLDEN BROWN ON TOP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This recipe is actually favorite of ours! I have to watch cholesterol and make it with half eggs, half egg beaters, and skim milk and everything else the same..... It works !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This is definitely quick and easy to make but it came out really soggy (I used half and half and wonder if it's my fault, though the 4 stars is for the lack of seasoning). The asparagus came out way overcooked - next time I'd undercook them. There needs to be a little seasoning, I think that next time I'd throw a few glugs of balsamic vinegar in with the asparagus and mushrooms, and cook until it carmelizes onto the vegetables and that would be enough. The only thing about this recipe is that I wish there was less cream - I felt so guilty eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States