Asparagus Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
wow!! this asparagus lasagna is absolutely, positively, incredibly delicious! i made it with fresh, parboiled asparagus, sauteed in a little extra garlic (with butter not margarine), used an aged provolone, mozzarella & asiago shredded cheese blend & 2% milk. my boyfriend & i devoured every bite. many thanks wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I will give anything 5 stars that gets my two picky preschoolers to try it and eat it. My husband detest thyme so I knew I would have to be creative with spice. I usually measure carefully but this dish brought out the Rachel Ray in me and I was "eyeballing and dashing" everything. I used Italian seasoning,black pepper, and paprika. I doubled the sauce and added about a 1/4 of ricotta cheese to the mixture. I found this helped to smooth it out as well as compliment the lasagna dish. I had no cheddar I used monteray Jack slices,and shredded mozzarella ( I like a lot of Cheese) and topped it off with sargento's sun dried tomato, basil cheese blend. This added extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Great recipe. Will make again and again. We LOVE asparagus at our house, so this was a winner. Next time, I'll use more ham. We used what we had left over from Easter. I also used fresh asparagus cut into 1 inch pieces. I blanched them for a minute, just to take the crunch out. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Did anyone else wonder how you stretch 5 lasagna noodles into 3 layers worth in a 9X9 pan? I used 12 no-cook noodles. I also doubled the cheese, ham and garlic, and added sauteed sliced mushrooms to the asparagus layer. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Although we enjoyed this recipe, it definitely needs some work, for our taste. I followed the recipe with a few exceptions. I increased the amount of garlic, as I thought the sauce rather bland and we like garlic. I also added white pepper and a dash of nutmeg to the sauce. Instead of canned asparagus I used a bunch of fresh, blanched in boiling water for 2 minutes, then shocked in ice water and patted dry. Definitely use pencil thin asparagus, not medium or thick. I baked the dish at 350*F for 30 minutes, let rest for 10 minutes. I think this would make a good brunch offering or a lite summer meal with a crisp green salad. I will probably make the recipe again, but it does need some work, for our taste, as it is rather bland. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Very good and a great change of pace from the red sauce lasagne with beef. I added fresh mushrooms and sauteed them with the butter and garlic. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I was very inspired by the previous reviews! I made this recipe with fresh asparagus and low-fat riccota cheese (mixed with an Italian shredded cheese). I used corn starch to thicken my sauce and it turned out a very nice consistancy. My husband loved it! It surely was an asparagus recipe and the asparagus was the star ingredient! I thought I would try to make this with chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I have made this recipe for years! It is a family favorite. When I use the no-cook lasagna noodles, I make these changes: I make the cream sauce thinner by adding more milk. After assembled, I cover the pan with foil and bake in my conventional oven until the noodles are done. Then I uncover it and sprinkle the last of the cheese on top and return to the oven to melt and brown a little. The cooking time is longer than the microwave version, but then again; you save the time of boiling and dealing with the noodles. It is easier to assemble. Made either way, it's a wonderfully different lasagna. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Would like to know if anyone tried this recipe with uncooked noodles. In some lasagna recipes you can do this. It would save a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe. I used broccoli, as one of the previous reviewers did, and added some sliced mushrooms to the broccoli layer. I also substituted cheddar cheese for the mozzarella, since I really like the combination of ham and cheddar cheese. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States