Asparagus Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Thanks for posting - I lost my recipe for this, which has been one of our favorties for years. I recall reading the original recipe on the label of a DelMonte can of asparagus. I too agree that fresh asparagus is far better. I will use garlic salt to replace fresh garlic if I have none on hand. This is very easy and quick to make, as it is microwavable. I have also doubled and made a full pan for guests. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Extremely easy with canned lasagna and a thick slice of ham from the deli (chopped). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebago, Maine, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This turned our really good. My hubby and kids really like it too. I’m always looking for ways to eat asparagus as I buy it all the time on sale. I did use two bunches of fresh asparagus sautéed in butter. I did add some Italian seasonings to the sauce along with a little chicken graduals. I also added some Italian cheese to the layers along w/ the motz. Cheese. I layered w/ no-boil noodles in a 9x13 and baked at 350 for 25 mins. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Pleasantly surprised by this-the flavors all complimented each other. I only wish it was thicker, heartier lasagna. I would add much more filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Wonderful. It was the perfect way to use our Asparagus. It could have had more flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
The first time I made this recipe, I tried it as a lasagna and I didn't have much luck. It tasted great but it didn't seem to have enough substance to hold it together - it may have been better with a ricotta layer as others have tried. The next time I had leftover ham I tried it again, with the following changes (based on some suggestions from previous reviewers): I made the roux as directed, but I did increase the quantities a bit and use white wine for some of the liquid - then I stirred in the grated cheese as you would when making a cheese sauce. Tossed it with cooked shell pasta, chopped steamed asparagus and diced ham - put in a casserole dish, topped with some grated mozzarella and parm and baked until bubbly. It was dee-lish! Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIBSOJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was a wonderfully different take on lasagna! I added a more traditional cheese layer (3 eggs, 2.5 cups ricotta, 2 cups cottage, 1 cup parmesan)and topped it with the mozzarella and it was wonderful! Also, I used fresh asparagus and the flavors were great. I think next time I might add more and maybe some more garlic and salt to the sauce. A note for the asaparagus, make sure to pat/squeeze out as much water from it as possible to reduce watering down your dish. Overall, GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was very good. I used fresh asparagus as canned is a mushy, disgusting mess (to me.) I often use the sauce in this recipe for chicken dishes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I made a recipe similar to this and it was delicious. My husband doesn't hate asparagus but also does not eat it when I serve it and he had 2 helpings. I used fresh asparagus, no mozzarella, no thyme and added alot of parmesan cheese in the sauce and between the layers. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was awesome!! I was determined to make this for my mother's day dinner. DH was not too keen on the idea, but I made it anyway (hey, it's my day, I thought I had the right). I used fresh asparagus and doubled the sauce mixture. 4TBPS butter and flour, 3 cups of milk. It was great. My husband was very impressed, he didn't think he liked asparagus. I will definetly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States