Asparagus Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
wow!! this asparagus lasagna is absolutely, positively, incredibly delicious! i made it with fresh, parboiled asparagus, sauteed in a little extra garlic (with butter not margarine), used an aged provolone, mozzarella & asiago shredded cheese blend & 2% milk. my boyfriend & i devoured every bite. many thanks wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I will give anything 5 stars that gets my two picky preschoolers to try it and eat it. My husband detest thyme so I knew I would have to be creative with spice. I usually measure carefully but this dish brought out the Rachel Ray in me and I was "eyeballing and dashing" everything. I used Italian seasoning,black pepper, and paprika. I doubled the sauce and added about a 1/4 of ricotta cheese to the mixture. I found this helped to smooth it out as well as compliment the lasagna dish. I had no cheddar I used monteray Jack slices,and shredded mozzarella ( I like a lot of Cheese) and topped it off with sargento's sun dried tomato, basil cheese blend. This added extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Great recipe. Will make again and again. We LOVE asparagus at our house, so this was a winner. Next time, I'll use more ham. We used what we had left over from Easter. I also used fresh asparagus cut into 1 inch pieces. I blanched them for a minute, just to take the crunch out. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Did anyone else wonder how you stretch 5 lasagna noodles into 3 layers worth in a 9X9 pan? I used 12 no-cook noodles. I also doubled the cheese, ham and garlic, and added sauteed sliced mushrooms to the asparagus layer. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Although we enjoyed this recipe, it definitely needs some work, for our taste. I followed the recipe with a few exceptions. I increased the amount of garlic, as I thought the sauce rather bland and we like garlic. I also added white pepper and a dash of nutmeg to the sauce. Instead of canned asparagus I used a bunch of fresh, blanched in boiling water for 2 minutes, then shocked in ice water and patted dry. Definitely use pencil thin asparagus, not medium or thick. I baked the dish at 350*F for 30 minutes, let rest for 10 minutes. I think this would make a good brunch offering or a lite summer meal with a crisp green salad. I will probably make the recipe again, but it does need some work, for our taste, as it is rather bland. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Very good and a great change of pace from the red sauce lasagne with beef. I added fresh mushrooms and sauteed them with the butter and garlic. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I was very inspired by the previous reviews! I made this recipe with fresh asparagus and low-fat riccota cheese (mixed with an Italian shredded cheese). I used corn starch to thicken my sauce and it turned out a very nice consistancy. My husband loved it! It surely was an asparagus recipe and the asparagus was the star ingredient! I thought I would try to make this with chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I have made this recipe for years! It is a family favorite. When I use the no-cook lasagna noodles, I make these changes: I make the cream sauce thinner by adding more milk. After assembled, I cover the pan with foil and bake in my conventional oven until the noodles are done. Then I uncover it and sprinkle the last of the cheese on top and return to the oven to melt and brown a little. The cooking time is longer than the microwave version, but then again; you save the time of boiling and dealing with the noodles. It is easier to assemble. Made either way, it's a wonderfully different lasagna. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Would like to know if anyone tried this recipe with uncooked noodles. In some lasagna recipes you can do this. It would save a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe. I used broccoli, as one of the previous reviewers did, and added some sliced mushrooms to the broccoli layer. I also substituted cheddar cheese for the mozzarella, since I really like the combination of ham and cheddar cheese. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States