Asparagus Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I have made this dip several times in the last few months and it is one of the best ive ever had. I did make a couple of changes and additions to it to suit my tastes... and I have literally been asked to make at least 8 copies of this recipe from friends, co-workers and family. I had read from previous reviews that it had a tendacy to turn out watery, so I added between 6-8 oz of cream cheese to thicken it up. I also added 1 fresh jalepeno pepper and a handful of radishes for texture.. I also tripled or more the cilantro called for. When this is refridgerated it thickens up nicely due to the cream cheese. I started using this on St. Patrick's day for a party when I needed to bring a green appetizer and served it with guacamole green corn chips and breaded, fried asparagus pieces... Since I have brought it to work for "dip day" several times and made it at home. It has become a hit already and EVERYONE wants the recipe and loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRAZYKEL028

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Oh, my! This was a random recipe search when I had asparagus I forgot to make for Easter (!), and wanted to make something different... I added cream cheese as another reviewer suggested, and I didn't refrigerate, just ate it warm. It was fantastic. We are guacamole fanatics, and I must say this was super. I don't give 5 stars too often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
WOW! I LOVE it!!! I just ate half of it warm because I couldn't stop long enough to let it chill! We're big guacamole fans and I make it often, but this is just the sort of change my taste buds needed! I made several changes, but kept the basics of the recipe- I didn't have any salsa left, so I just used a half a medium tomato, a dash of vinegar, and the juice of half a lime to cover the salsa flavors. I also added some ground sea salt and some ground cayenne pepper. I omitted the garlic. And, as I typically do with my own guac recipe, I added a small squirt of honey. But I did taste it before I made all those changes and I still LOVED it! You can hardly even tell that it's asparagus- which my husband is a fan of (since he's not usually a fan of asparagus). Awesome! Perfect with chips and a cold beer! I can't wait to serve this to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is in the category of WOW! one of my new favorites.....My husband is not a fan of asparagus and he adores this! I just used salsa, fresh cilantro and fresh lime juice...put it all in my bullet, and instant AWESOME dip or sauce...This belongs in the recipe hall of fame.....Great for dieters and diabetics too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Very good - -I used one avacado and one bunch of the asparagus! Husband had NO idea! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I love this... I also took the advice of the other comments and added about 2 oz. of fat-free cream cheese and about 1/3 of an avocado, and it came out amazing. I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I love and have fresh asparagus in my garden, what better way to enjoy my favorite Mexican dish with a fraction of the fat and calories! I added a little lime juice, a few TBS of cream cheese and upped the cilantro - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher-chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I just made this and thought it was wonderful. I did make a few adjustments. I add a good tablespoon of freshly chopped cilantra. I added atleast a cup of salsa. I pureed my asparagus to get more of a guacamole texture. I also added about a tsp of scorned woman (super hot, hot sauce). To give it a little bite. Normally, I only use a drop of that stuff. I got my husband and kids to eat this. NO ONE could guess what the main ingredient was so I DIDNT tell them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is such a lower fat option from regular guacamole! I made a few changes to original recipe. I used "Big Y" grocery store "Cilantro salsa", I used a complete bunch of Cilantro, skipped the garlic as salsa had it in it. I added a little avocado instead of cream cheese to help the consistency that another reviewer suggested and it kept the fats healthy. People raved about this recipe at the super-bowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was an amazing recipe! I made it for a dinner party I was having and it was gone way before dinner was ready! They all asked me if there was any more and for the recipe. I finally have something I can share with my vegan boss too. She's gonna love it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Chef John's Asparagus Tart

A tasty pastry boat floats your baked asparagus on a sea of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States