Asparagus Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very good! I found the garlic to be a bit overwhelming, but this recipe is tasty and creative. I added a bit of lime juice and used more cilantro than called for. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I love this... I also took the advice of the other comments and added about 2 oz. of fat-free cream cheese and about 1/3 of an avocado, and it came out amazing. I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Lot of great reviews and suggestions, but i prefer to eat my asparagus as asparagus, and my guacamole made traditionally with avocados, fat and all. I just really didn't care for the texture (not creamy) with the asparagus. i felt like i wasted what could have been a yummy bowl of cooked asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I liked this but the recipe needs to be tweaked. I followed others advice and added low fat cream cheese. I will add more next time. I also added some saracha for heat. I didn't have salsa so I improvised, having salsa may improve the flavors as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
It was a little watery, but the flavor was really good. I served it with homemade tortilla chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Not much flavor. I even tried to perk it up with some garlic salt, but it did not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This recipe is good and resembles guacamole, but it is pretty far from the real deal. I stuck with the recipe, and it came out pretty good. Add salt for taste, and use thick salsa so that it does not come out watery. I think that adding cream cheese would definitely help the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Very good - -I used one avacado and one bunch of the asparagus! Husband had NO idea! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is great! I will definitely make this again. I used 12 oz. frozen asparagus, no green onions, and a generous amount of Adobo (salt/white pepper/oregano seasoning). but I think I will be a little more conservative with the garlic next time. Maybe press only 1 clove, then taste and add another if needed. Its really a very good substitute for guacamole. Ole! Yume!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is a great recipe. It is amazing how much asparagus it takes to make a bowl full of guacamole. I totally faked out my 15 year old daughter, she had no idea it wasn't avocado. I might try adding some low fat sour cream next time. I used lime, cilantro, dried hot red pepper, diced tomato, chopped onion, and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Chef John's Asparagus Tart

A tasty pastry boat floats your baked asparagus on a sea of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States