Asparagus, Chicken and Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This recipe looked really bland and dry as-is, so I admit I made some adjustments. I used boiled, on-the-bone, dark meat chicken and cut it up then browned it in olive oil, garlic, onions, and crushed red pepper. I then added the asparagus, made a rue of flour and butter, then added milk, salt and pepper. Very good that way, and I'll likely make it again, noting those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This recipe was very good! i read some of the reviews and added mushrooms. i also used a bit more of the crushed red peppers because i like spicey food me and my husband both liked it very much! a recipe i will use many times over! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
good base idea but definitely needs a sauce. I also thought it had too much garlic and peppers. I cut it into about half of what the recipe calls for and it was still very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
great receipe. will use fresh asparagus and not canned next time. the canned became to mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This recipe was delightful. I followed the additional steps suggested in previous posts. I added red bell peppers, thyme, basil, mushrooms and a garlic alfredo sauce to the noodles. Saute the bell peppers with the chicken and then add the other ingredients. The asparagus and mushrooms should go in last to ensure they don't get over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Just ok. Needs some type of sauce. I dumped in a jar of spaghetti sauce which helped a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I got lazy and didn't cut the asparagras up enough, so it was still a little crunchy but all around a great meal for a night when we need a quick, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I was inspired by this recipie to use up a few odds & ends--shredded rotisserie chicken, a few asparagus spears, penne. I cooked the penne, steamed the asparagus in the micro with garlic & red pepper flakes and heated the chicken - mixes it all with the drained pasta. Added about a 1/3 a cup of non-fat sour cream and some crumbled feta. Served hot with a spinich salad. Yummy! and even better there are leftovers for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Great! Made it with Barilla Pasta with protein to increase that value. Also added sundried tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I will definitely make this again. It was very good. I like recipes like this because you can throw in almost anything you like. I added what I had in the refrigerator, mushrooms, onion, roasted red peppers, yellow pepper and added some mozzarella along with the parmesan that was in the recipe. It was delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States