Asparagus, Chicken and Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This was such a waste of food and time. Way too dry after adding chicken broth. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This was my first real kitchen experience; mom was tired, and it was MY turn to do dinner. As a 17-year-old, I know I'm a bit behind in the cooking arena...honestly, the most I'd ever attempted before was pancakes. So imagine the family's surprise when I was able to serve them this delicious and somewhat complicated-looking dish! Not to mention MY surprise when it all went smoothly...truly a quick and easy recipe. It was delicious, and I can't wait to cook again. The only alteration I was brave enought to attempt was to use more than one tbl. spoon of olive oil to saute the chicken, and to add a bit of salt while it was sizzling; it added a lot of flavor to the chicken, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This dish is extremely easy to make, and tastes even better with whole wheat penne noodles. The red pepper flakes add just the right amount of spice. This is a new staple. Even my spiceaphobe husband complimented me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This was very delicious, and I will definitely make it many times in the future. I made some slight variations based on past reviews, but I'm sure it would have been just as good straight from the recipe. I cooked the chicken in the olive oil, red pepper flakes, garlic, and kosher salt. When the chicken was about halfway done, I added about 1/4 cup of white wine. I added the asparagus to the boiling water with the pasta for the last 3 minutes of cooking. While the pasta was draining, I stirred in halved grape tomatoes into the chicken just to heat them through and then tossed everything together. I loved this light meal -- it was quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Very good! I used a little less red pepper flakes, and I chopped up turkey bacon and added it when I put in the asparagus. It may sound odd, but it really added extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
As previous reviews have stated: this recipe is very dry and bland as is! I love asparagus so I decided to give it a second chance only ‘kicking it up a notch’ by sautéing one yellow pepper, ½ a medium size red onion, 1 cup sliced cherry tomatoes and 3 leaves of fresh basil along with the red pepper, asparagus and garlic. I also took other reader’s advice and added 1 cup of low sodium chicken broth to the pasta mixture. This was wonderful!!!! Sooo yummy I can’t wait to cook it again  The fresh basil really added to the spicy red pepper and garlic taste while the chicken broth kept things moist. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Very tasty and easy to make. I did alter it a little, I added cajun seasoning to the other spices. Will reduce the amount of pasta called for next time. Was great for leftovers the next day. I didn't need to add any chicken broth to it, was tasty just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mn78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I made this dish, with my oldest son's help, for my wife for our anniversary/valentine's day. This was a fairly easy dish to make and tasted great! The only thing that I did different, was to add 2 TBSP of butter before tossing with the pasta. The wife says that this one is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedartown, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I added some onions like someone suggested and also about 1/4 cup chicken broth. It was still a little dry so I would add some more next time. This will be excellent with alfredo sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I've made a variation of this recipe before, using spaghetti noodles and adding mushrooms. When there's about 3 mins. left, I cook the asparagus with the noodles, rather than in the skillet. Also, try adding white wine or broth to keep it from being too dry. It's a very easy recipe and is great for weekday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States