Asparagus Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Sorry but we thought this was awful, very bland and a pile of mush. If you like flavor, pass on this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Not nearly enough asparagus for the amount of other ingredients. If I make it again, I will use 2 cans (or fresh asparagus) Also, I would melt the cheese in with the sauce, and butter the breadcrumbs so they have a chance to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Everyone in my family loved this casserole with the exception of my son who just does not like cheese. I will probably leave out the almonds next time because we are not crazy about them in general. We found this to be a nice change from the usual broccoli or corn casserole. Asparagus is my personal favorite so I found it extra good! The eggs gave it something extra I have never found in a vegetable casserole before. This will be something I will make again and again. I just might try it with fresh asparagus when it is in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Very delicious. Made with fresh asparagus. Used juice from microwaved fresh asparagus. Used Stove Top Stuffing instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Traded up the eggs for mushrooms... Also used fresh asparagus. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Okay... I don't have any flour in the house so I used potato flakes instead, also I only have fresh asparagus so I used water from the blanch in lieu of the can juices, I also don't have Worcestershire Sauce so I added more cayenne, the bread crumbs were seasoned crackers that I popped in the blender to pulverize and I only have shredded not cubed cheese. Turns out this recipe is darned good even if you only have 1/3 of the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I liked the taste of this casserole, but it is very rich with the sauce on it. The only thing I did different was use fresh asparagus. I just steamed it in the microwave first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Used the French fried onions suggested by someone else, good! Also used fresh asparagus and the water from steaming it. We have an abundance of eggs in the Spring so I added 4 additional, they were alll small eggs too. Instead of cayenne, I added pepperjack cheese with the cheddar. I rarely measure out cheese, just add what feels right. No almonds on hand. It was good, but not super tasty; nothing to write home about. Might or might not make again. The hardboiled eggs caught me off guard since it isn't mentioned in the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My mother in law makes a variation of this recipe that is just fantastic. She uses fresh asparagus, quartered, and cooks them until they just start to soften (they finish cooking in the oven). Instead of layering the cheese, she creates a cheese sauce, and mixes that with the asparagus. Then layers that with the sliced boiled eggs. She also eliminates the almonds.. instead just tops the casserole with cheese and the breadcrumbs as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is sooo rich. A little goes a long way. Would try using fresh asparagus and more of it because the canned gives it a somewhat offensive smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daleville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States