Asparagus Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
With lots of salt and pepper the flavor wasn't too bad. However, my pepper and onion was still crunchy and I didn't enjoy that. I give this 3 stars but hubby gives it 4. Next time I make this I will precook the pepper and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Pretty good recipe overall. It wasn't fantastic though. I did change things up a little bit and that might have been why. I used canned ham simply because that was all I had in the house. That's the same reason I had to use dried parsley and no tapioca. I also added about 3 cups of rottini instead of separately making rice. If I needed to use the ingredients I might make it again, but I will pass the recipe on to other university students in need for a simple satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I am really not sure why this recipe got anything above 1 star... it was awful! I followed the directions to a T but it did not turn out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I took this casserole to a superbowl game and it was a touchdown for sure! Some changes I made: I used about 4 cups of chopped ham, 2-10oz of frozen cut asparagus, a whole small green pepper, I probably used at least a cup of shredded cheese, 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup and about 3/4-1 cup of evaporated milk and I added fresh mushrooms. Everyone loved this recipe. When I make it for just my husband and I next time, I will use the original recipe in an 8 x 8 baking dish instead of a 9 x 13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This was terrific! I usually shy away from any recipe that calls for canned soup as an ingredient but this kind of comfort food requires it. I used cream of asparagus soup and added mushrooms instead of the cream of mushroom soup. I also crushed up some sour-cream-and-chive flavored potato chips and sprinkled them on top. Also left out the tapioca. I didn't see the purpose of it. My husband loved this dish and said that it is definately a "keeper". Will make again when we crave something creamy and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This was a very good recipe. Didn't change anything. My husband would have added the mushrooms also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Thanks, Carol. We loved this. I didn't have green pepper so I left it out and I made a cream sauce and added a small can of mushrooms in place of the mushroom soup. What a wonderful way to use up Easter dinner leftovers and make it taste as good if not better than the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Made a few changes to this recipe. Omitted the tapioca and used fat-free half in half (reduced amount) in place of the evaporated milk. Also, added 4 oz of sauteed fresh mushrooms and baked close to an hour to reduce some of the liquid and make sure the onions, pepper and celery were cooked through. It was good. Not sure if I would make it again, but it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe, but my family didn't. Their not big asparagus fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
This one is staying in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States