Asparagus Cashew Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was quite good. Like other reviewers, I did think the recipe as written came out a little greasy. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will reduce the butter and possibly broil/season the asparagus first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie17777
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delicious! Awesome recipe! I used 3/4 the butter indicated, about 1/2 more cashews (roasted), and it came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie17777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Loved it! Tossed asparagus with olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted in oven at 400 degrees for 10 minutes. Roasted cashews alongside for 2 minutes. While the asparagus and cashews roasted, I started on the rest of the dish. Probably used more than 2 oz spaghetti which was fine. Really watch it though as it browns fast. Used chicken broth instead of veg broth and more than recipe called for, probably an extra 1/2 cup. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was SUPER yummy! Would def make it again. I took the other posters suggestions and only used 2 TBSP of butter (we use Earth's Balance) and it was wonderful. The only thing about it, which is really weird, is that is smelled HORRIBLE while it was cooking lol. IDK what it was, but it tasted great haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This was ok... I would make it again but next time I would use it as a base for a more flavor filled dish. The pasta and rice combo with the asparagus and cashews is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
We really liked this one. I have a few suggestions for improvements. Add the broth slowly as you may not need as much as the recipe suggests. It depends on how old the rice is and the kind of pasta or spaghetti that you are using. When I made this I did not use the full amount and it was perfect. Also, I think it looks nicer if the asparagus and cashews are in smaller pieces. I broke the cashews into smaller chunks and cut the asparagus into 1 inch pieces. Finally, watch the sodium of the stock. I would recommend a low sodium one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
We loved this!! I did make, what I would consider, minor substitutions. I used orzo for the broken spaghetti, chicken broth for the vegetable broth, and toasted almonds for the cashews. My asparagus was thicker than I’d have liked, so I cut the really thick pieces in half lengthwise which worked well for me. A nice change from plain rice and another great way to enjoy asparagus. A definite do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is very yummy. I don't like asparagus though so i eat it without it.... still, very good yes and i was like nomnomnom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Oh my gosh! My family and I loved this recipe. We could have just eaten this dish....LOVED IT! Prepared just as directed in recipe. YUMMY! A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States