Asparagus Cashew Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I make this recipe all the time! Instead of spaghetti i use whichever small pasta i have on hand (orzo or ditallini, or sometimes stars). I also used kasmati rice or a medly of long grained rice and it really changes up the flavor, depending on what type you use. Ill make it without asparagus, too and it's just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by No Subject
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I made this dish just before last Passover. Followed the directions to a T and it came out perfectly, and it was pretty easy to do so. I think I'm just not a huge fan of cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by No Subject

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Really nice way to use fresh asparagus. A bit dry, so next time will follow others suggestion and add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
My family loves this side dish! I too used 1/2 of the butter suggested in the recipe and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This is really good. I used chicken broth instead of water, and I roasted my asparagus instead of steaming it. I also found that it needed more broth (about 1/2 cup more). I threw in about 1/2 cup of fresh grated Parmesan cheese. Delicious! A keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boujie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
The recipe is great, but I think that it has too much butter. I didn't even try making it with the whole amount suggested because it was too much. I only used 2 TBS and it was delicious. I also had to add about a cup of water towards the ende because the broth was not enough. Otherwise it is excellent. That is the only reason for 4 stars, I wish they offered a rating of 4.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Good but lacking something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbermuffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA
Living In: Quincy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 468Foodie
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Wow...AWESOME. The only exceptions to the recipe were barley for rice and vegetarian chk'n paste for the stock. I discovered that the only thing better than this recipe itself is spritzing a little lemon juice on the pilaf upon serving, and that chilled leftover sweet grilled vegetable kabobs make a complimentary side for an easy full vegetarian dinner. This will be a summer staple, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 468Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
OMG! My whole family couldn't keep from complimenting this dish! I followed the suggestion of others and reduced the butter to about 2 TBL, didn't have jasmine rice so used regular white rice, used salt free garlic & italian seasoning since didn't have garlic and chicken broth (from bouillon) instead of vegetable broth because didn't have any. The fresh boiled asparagus pieces and cashews made this recipe fabulous! Used half cup of chopped onion but omitted the extra salt - still came out fabulous! Family of 5 enjoyed and 2 family members took 2nds - so yeah, could have been made for "8" but hubby said double recipe for leftovers would be appreciated in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Ball

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I love the green coloring from the asparagus and the crunch from the cashews. Served with Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs and grilled mixed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States