Asparagus Cashew Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
made his exactly as written and I am sorry. It has zero flavor.luckily I was able to salvage this dish by adding a few Tbsp of chicken boullion.then it tasted just like rice-a-roni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
delicious. Peanuts also work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Outstanding. We loved this...we used both broccoli and asparagus, extra garlic...but as is, it's a flavorful side dish, making it, again, as we speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily Gould
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Love this recipe!!!! I have made it exactly as written and found the perfect balance with omitting butter and using a dash of pure olive oil to brown the rice and spaghetti. I roast the asparagus and cashews at 350 while the rice is simmering. It is truly a wonderful dish and I get SO many raves from all. Thanks Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This was just okay for me. Personal preference...because the pilaf and asparagus are prepared separately and stirred together at the end, I would rather have my usual brown/wild rice mix with asparagus on the side. I followed the recipe except to follow the liquid/rice ratio on the back of the bag of rice, decrease butter to 2T, increase onion to 1/2 cup, and increase the asparagus to almost one pound (pre-trimming). For meal-planning purposes, I would consider this dish a starch and a vegetable. As written, to me, it's five servings...nowhere near eight. I appreciate the recipe and glad I tried it, but won't make again just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I accidentally bought vegetable soup instead of stock and it still came out great! I just had to add extra water. My husband loves it and he's a meat & potato kind of guy! Recipe makes a lot, but I think the leftovers will make a really good lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Excellent recipe; we loved it! I think the person who compared it to Rice a Roni didn't do something right, didn't use Jasmine rice, or whatever. This is way, way above anything you can get in a box and best of all, there's no chemical additives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I added chicken to this dish to make more of a meal out of it. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Liked this, so did Mike - of course, he is partial to cashews! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I'd give this recipe 3 1/2 stars if I could. It was really not spectacular, but at the same time there is nothing in it that would suggest it would be a mind-blowing meal, so I don't want to give it a low rating. It was good but not great (I did cut back on the butter as suggested by the reviews). Basically, if you made some nice jasmine rice and broiled some great asparagus on the side, the resulting meal would be almost the same and you'd save yourself some time and ingredients. If I'm craving asparagus and rice, I will do that next time instead making this meal. But I would definitely recommend that one try this recipe out since it might just be the taste you're after. (I'm a vegetarian.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States