Asparagus Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Fantastic. I actually made these last Wednesday and froze them for a party I had last night (Tuesday). It was a small girls night out gathering with only 4 small appetizer dishes. This was the only dish that had no leftovers. I gave out the recipe enough that I wish I had written it down and copied it. I even used the 1/3 less fat cream cheese and egg beaters. I also reduced the butter and brushed it on instead of rolling it around in the butter. I had enough for 24 slices of bread and could have made more except I ran out of bread. I definitely reccomend you give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I had an abundance of asparagus so I gave this recipe a whirl. I used whole grain bread, decreased the butter & & greatly decreased the cooking time (down to about 14 minutes but next time I will set the oven @ 375 & cook for about 18 minutes). I added chopped chives & freshly ground black pepper to the cream cheese mixture & took the suggestion to sprinkle sesame seeds onto them after rolling them in the butter...very nice addition to the recipe. I used gorgonzola cheese & neufatchel cheese & because of previous reviews, spread it a little thicker (but not too much) than I would have...which was a good move. It'll be nice to have homemade appetizers ready to pop in the oven whenever wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Yummy! Can't wait to make again. Next time I will spread the blue cheese/cream cheese on thick! We could hardly taste it. But that's only because I put a very thin layer on. I was worried it would be too overbaring. It's not. Also, I would brush on the melted butter. The bread soked it up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
I've been making this recipe for years and all my friends request that I bring it to our social events! Even people that don't like asparagus LOVE these! The only thing I do differently is I slice the roll into thirds. It makes it more of a "finger" food and a little easier to eat if you're serving as an hors'deuvre. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINNBENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I've had this recipe for years except there is no butter involved! You can cut the rolls in half, place seam side down on a cookie sheet, place in freezer til hard,remove from cookie sheet and store in a ziplock bag until ready to use. Spray the cookie sheet with non-stick spray before baking. Lots less calories and people always say how great they taste. Have extra bread on hand because I always end up with more filling than 20 pieces will hold. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Took a little time to assemble; completely worth it! Was told by a discriminating guest "hors d'oeuvres were over the top!" My batch made 30 full pieces (limited by the number of slices in a loaf of Pepperidge Farm Thin-Sliced Sandwich Bread), so I got 60 bite-sized pieces; there was enough cheese mixture to make at least another 10-15 pieces. I poured half the melted butter onto a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet, arranged the assembled pieces on the sheet, & poured the remaining butter over everything -- much easier than trying to roll things around to coat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This might have been good were it not for all the butter. Just like the suggested cooking time, the butter was way too much!!! If I try this again, I'll brush melted butter on and spice up the cheese mixture a bit, maybe wih chives and/or garlic. And I'll only cook for about 16-18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MttaLeslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I thought this was very tasty! I did 3 ozs of the bleu cheese b/c I didn't want it to be too strong for the kids at a family function. I also forgot to add some spices to the cheese mix (as recommended by other reviews) and so sprinkled garlic powder and sea salt on top before baking. In my taste batch using variations of spices on top, this was by far the best combo. I also tried both the brush method and the rolling method with the butter, and the rolling method won hands down. I just used a pair of tongs to give it a quick roll in the pan of melted butter and still only used one cube of butter. I also skipped the toothpicks. I found that soft, fresh bread stuck together just fine with the cheese sauce and I crimped the seam a little to help keep it there. And just FYI, the ones I baked immediately without freezing were done in just 10 minutes. All in all, I LOVE this recipe, though it was a little more time-consuming than I anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It's a wonderful appetizer that will satisfy all your asparagus & blue cheese fans! Quite easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I served these to 50 at an international women's event and they were a big hit with everyone. I was a little worried that the blue cheese would be overwhelming so I spread the mixture pretty thin. I wished I'd been more liberal with it. Also, serve these hot, as they tend to lose their crispness as they cool. Still not bad though! I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Chef John's Asparagus Tart

A tasty pastry boat floats your baked asparagus on a sea of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States