Asparagus Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
I've been making this recipe for years and all my friends request that I bring it to our social events! Even people that don't like asparagus LOVE these! The only thing I do differently is I slice the roll into thirds. It makes it more of a "finger" food and a little easier to eat if you're serving as an hors'deuvre. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINNBENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Thought I would not like the combination....turned out great. Had a little trouble with the oven set too high, (could be my oven) so next time will use 350 degreees and see how that works. Made them, cooked up a few to try, then froze the rest for party this Satuday. Think will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I got this recipe out of a book years ago, it's a big hit! I use my toaster oven and cook until brown (5-7 minutes). I even carry my small toaster oven to parties to make these quickly. I use slim asparagus and have even used canned out of season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Great recipe!!! I use Pepperigde Farm thin sliced bread, omit the egg, melt the cream cheese/blue cheese mixture in the microwave and to add extra flavor roll the asparagus wrap in butter and then in sesame seeds just before baking. People will think you are a culinary genious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This was a big hit when I made it for the first time for a baby shower. It was easily the most requested recipe from our table - one guest said "this is as good as any restaurant appetizer". I struggled a little bit with the oven temperature and baking time in my "test run". When I baked them for the party, I went with about 15 minutes at 375 and a very light coating of butter on the baking sheet. I made them a week before and kept them in the freezer and they stored beautifully. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This appetizer was a hit at our annual Super Bowl party. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I've had this recipe for years except there is no butter involved! You can cut the rolls in half, place seam side down on a cookie sheet, place in freezer til hard,remove from cookie sheet and store in a ziplock bag until ready to use. Spray the cookie sheet with non-stick spray before baking. Lots less calories and people always say how great they taste. Have extra bread on hand because I always end up with more filling than 20 pieces will hold. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! My teenage daughter whipped these up for a dinner party we were having and it was a HIT! It was SO EASY! If anyone had trouble with this recipe, they HAD to be doing it wrong! We did not have bleu cheese on hand, so we substituted feta crumbles. AWESOME! We LOVE this! Even my younger kids gobbled them up! This recipe is an asparagus "must do"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNYANN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Fabulous!! Took to a potluck not one remaining!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Excellent! I didn't have any blue cheese so I just omited it. I made half of the recipe with the spread minus the blue cheese and half with a slice of american cheese just to see how it would taste with a different cheese. Both were delecious but the american cheese will bubble out of the roll ups and make a mess on the baking pan. With or without the cheese, this is a five star treat. My wife really enjoyed as well. You should check after about 15 minutes in the oven so they don't over cook. Mine were perfectly browned after 18 minutes. Thanks Dale for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States