Asparagus Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Yesterday got some thin tender fresh asparagus on sale I tried it and everyone liked them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Fantastic. I actually made these last Wednesday and froze them for a party I had last night (Tuesday). It was a small girls night out gathering with only 4 small appetizer dishes. This was the only dish that had no leftovers. I gave out the recipe enough that I wish I had written it down and copied it. I even used the 1/3 less fat cream cheese and egg beaters. I also reduced the butter and brushed it on instead of rolling it around in the butter. I had enough for 24 slices of bread and could have made more except I ran out of bread. I definitely reccomend you give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I had an abundance of asparagus so I gave this recipe a whirl. I used whole grain bread, decreased the butter & & greatly decreased the cooking time (down to about 14 minutes but next time I will set the oven @ 375 & cook for about 18 minutes). I added chopped chives & freshly ground black pepper to the cream cheese mixture & took the suggestion to sprinkle sesame seeds onto them after rolling them in the butter...very nice addition to the recipe. I used gorgonzola cheese & neufatchel cheese & because of previous reviews, spread it a little thicker (but not too much) than I would have...which was a good move. It'll be nice to have homemade appetizers ready to pop in the oven whenever wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Yummy! Can't wait to make again. Next time I will spread the blue cheese/cream cheese on thick! We could hardly taste it. But that's only because I put a very thin layer on. I was worried it would be too overbaring. It's not. Also, I would brush on the melted butter. The bread soked it up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I made these for Easter 2006 and what a hit they were!! I only used 2 cubes of butter and basted them instead of dipping them into the butter. I also cut them into 3rds instead of halves for more bite sized appetizers. Luckily I brought the recipe with me because I handed out photocopies to 6 people. Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe was simply "heavenly". everybody loved them! Highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This might have been good were it not for all the butter. Just like the suggested cooking time, the butter was way too much!!! If I try this again, I'll brush melted butter on and spice up the cheese mixture a bit, maybe wih chives and/or garlic. And I'll only cook for about 16-18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MttaLeslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Many asked for the recipe after my big birthday party where it was one of the appetizers I served. So easy and great because you can freeze and do ahead. Now keep them on hand. May try with a grain bread next time see how we like it along with the reg. bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I vary by using pine nut & sliced Italian bread. My friends love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I served these to 50 at an international women's event and they were a big hit with everyone. I was a little worried that the blue cheese would be overwhelming so I spread the mixture pretty thin. I wished I'd been more liberal with it. Also, serve these hot, as they tend to lose their crispness as they cool. Still not bad though! I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Chef John's Asparagus Tart

A tasty pastry boat floats your baked asparagus on a sea of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States