Asparagus Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was OK and I like the fact that you can freeze these ahead of time. I followed the recipe exactly and had just the right amount of spread for the bread. Guess it's how you spread it or how big your bread was. I just used regular white bread and used a soda can as a rolling pin to flatten the bread out. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Delicious recipe. A friend made this the other day (leaving out the blue cheese) and they were gobbled up. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I am not a fan of blue cheese so much but these are out of this world! The butter is KEY. Great appetizer. There won't be any left - Trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I've made this many times and they were a hit! I usually add a little garlic powder to the cheese mixture, skip the egg and baste it in butter just before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I tried this recipe based on all the wonderful reviews it recieved. Unfortunately, I really don't understand all the hype! LOL I followed this recipe to the "T", and was not pleased with my results. I brought the appetizers to a family dinner, but they weren't a big seller. I tried one myself, and understood why...the blue cheese tasted very overwhelming (maybe I spread too much on?) and the rest was bland, which makes sense because it's only white bread and asparagus. I took other's suggestions as to roll them in sesame seeds, but that didn't save them for me. Sorry, it seemed like a great idea at the time, but I can't agree with the others...I won't be making this appetizer again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
oh my gosh good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was VERY good. I took it to a potluck and it was a true hit. I did buy a jar of chunky blue cheese salad dressing and took that to dip them in. We felt it addad a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
not sure what i did wrong but it came out too buttery and the asparagus was soggy. Maybe I wont leave it in the fridge overnight next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUV2COOK25

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Yesterday got some thin tender fresh asparagus on sale I tried it and everyone liked them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Fantastic. I actually made these last Wednesday and froze them for a party I had last night (Tuesday). It was a small girls night out gathering with only 4 small appetizer dishes. This was the only dish that had no leftovers. I gave out the recipe enough that I wish I had written it down and copied it. I even used the 1/3 less fat cream cheese and egg beaters. I also reduced the butter and brushed it on instead of rolling it around in the butter. I had enough for 24 slices of bread and could have made more except I ran out of bread. I definitely reccomend you give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States