Asopao de Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Really easy to make, and delicious. I used black olives. Love the cilantro in it. I also seasoned the chicken with Penzy's Arizona Dreaming. Definitely making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSteggy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I couldn't find adobo seasoning, so I sub'd chipotle peppers in adobo (4 de-seeded and finely chopped) and omitted the red pepper flakes. Fabulous recipe! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lschreiber99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Excellent soup. Its a great start. All that is needed is to season to taste. I used Traci's Adobo Seasoning on the site since I didnt have any. I add some extra chili powder & red pepper to kick up the heat to were I like it. Also added some asparagus and mushroom. Its great how easy it is to add whatever you have laying around. I look forward to making it again during the winter and hopefully with some avocado next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I was looking for a great dish with chicken thighs, and this was an amazing dish to stubble upon. I served it to a couple of friends for dinner. It hit the spot on a chilly autumn day. Things I changed: I added a seeded diced jalapeno to give a bit more kick. I have pre-measured packets of adobe seasoning. I used three instead of one to give the chicken that beautiful red/orange color. Last, do not cover the dish while it is simmering. I did by habit, and I had to cook it for a bit longer to get the liquid to absorb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Easy and inexpensive to make. A nice one dish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Michael has a recipe for Asopao?!!! I'd like to hear the story behind this recipe. Anyways... I made half of it. I didn't measure the amount of adobo I used (not sure how much "1 serving" is anyways, 1/4 teaspoon if I go by what the bottle says and that would have been too little in my opinion). I didn't change anything but if I had had gandules (pigeon peas), I would have probably added those instead of the petite peas. This is Puerto Rican comfort food. Very nice on a cold rainy night (like tonight). I added some sliced avocado on top. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Filling and flavorful it was! I had a different meal plan for dinner today but got distracted and found this recipe instead when I browsed through the pictures. We love our traditional chicken and rice but wanted to try something different. I halved the recipe for my small family and made little adjustments due to availabilty; I only have pimentos itelf so i added a touch of that and to sub the salty/briny taste from the olives, I tossed a little bit of capers. Also used rotel tomatoes and green chiles, and just all red bell peppers. The broth is awesome. Thanks for the recipe and glad to see a picture to the recipe already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
When I'm cooking for myself, I love to make this a bit hotter with fresh habanero or jalapeno slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States