Asian Water Roux White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Excellent bread! I followed this to the letter, except I took another reviewer's advice, and just went ahead with the roux still warm, rather than chilling it overnight. Also, I found the 1/2 cup of boiling water was not nearly enough- I mean, it was impossible to even whisk that way. So I boiled another 1/2 of water, and that did the trick. The dough rose beautifully the first time, and was plenty to make two loaves. After the second rise, it filled the two pans nicely. It baked up beautifully, and tastes delicious! We all really enjoyed it, and I will definitely be making it again. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have no frame of reference about Chinese bread or Chinese bakeries, so I really don't know what the texture of this bread is supposed to be. That being said, though, by following the directions, I too, got more of a dough than a roux or a paste. I just soldiered on, probably out of sheer stubbornness, I guess. At any rate, I did let it stay in the fridge overnight then made it the next day. My mixer wasn't too happy with me, probably more bc I doubled this recipe than anything else, but I was able to get a decent dough out of it. I tried this making 2 loaves out of one batch like the recipe suggested; it did take a long time to rise (about an hour--I can usually get dough to rise in 20-30 mins) and made 2 very small loaves. I then used my Pullman pan and made one large loaf with the 2nd full batch. I suppose you need to use small loaf pans, or use a full loaf pan for this bread. I got a chewy, sweet (but not really dessert sweet) bread. It's not bad, and it turns out rather pretty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
So far to date, this is the best bread I have made. It is soft and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This is really delicious bread! I'd never made bread that involved a roux, nor have I ever had bread from an Asian market/bakery so I was intrigued to see what it was all about. After reading the other reviews, I also used more water in my roux, starting with the 1/2 cup and adding more until I had the right consistency (I ended up using almost 1 cup total). My roux had the consistency of a thick milkshake. I let the roux cool to room temp and proceeded, skipping the overnight part. Other modifications: I used 1 T of yeast; and since I did not have the milk powder I used 1/4 cup of 2% milk and decreased my water to 1/2 cup. Using a mixer is a must with this recipe, as the dough is very sticky and not stiff enough to handled. I used a hand mixer w/dough hooks for about 8 minutes. As it mixed it developed into a good dough, though at first I was unsure if it was going to turn out. Even when done being kneaded, it still wasn't as easily handled as other doughs I've worked with (softer, moister than a lot of doughs and will slip through your fingers), but I guess that's just how it is, b/c this dough made an excellent loaf of bread despite it's differences. I made one, tall, fluffy 9x5 loaf, instead of 2 and it baked for about 25 minutes. I also laid a piece of foil across the top for the last 10 minutes to keep it from over-browning. The bread was very soft & moist, had a finer texture than other breads I've made, soft crust, & was slightly sweet. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie-Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
The recipe gave a great starting point. If you feel like baking this immediately, you can start the roux/sponge by boiling water in microwave for a few minutes, while creaming the sugar and butter. then mix boiled water, creamed butter mixture and (make sure you use twice sifted flour) flour; hand mix it at a gentle speed to remove lumps, or use hand blender to smooth. Cool to room temperature or tepid warm Should take 20-30 minutes. While cooling the starter, mix twice sifted flour, sugar, dry milk powder. Beat the egg. Take a big bowl and a cloth that can cover the bowl. Run both in hot water or soak it in very hot water. Activate the dry yeast with warm water, after 8-10 minutes. Wring out water from the damp warm cloth and dry/wipe excess water from the bowl. Once roux is cooled, yeast is activated, egg beaten, and dry mixture mixed, continue by combining all ingredients except salt and butter. gently knead and fold all ingredients for 4-7 minutes or use bread machine by combining the ingredients for 8 minutes. Take your warm big bowl, grease very lightly, and proof your dough for an hour. Cover your dough with warm damp cloth, to create humidity. After an hour of proof, punch the dough down for brief seconds.Cut the dough in half. Take a rolling pin, roll the dough in a thick rectangular shape. roll the the dough into a log or any shape and add filling. lightly grease pans, and place both dough.cover both dough with damp, warm cloth to proof for 20 minutes. bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I've made this bread three times so far and am quite pleased with the results but I disagree that this makes the soft loaves that you get at Asian bakeries. All three of my attempts have produced tasty but still somewhat dense loaves. It is soft but not the cottony crumb that Asian breads tend to have. I love the starter and it is a pleasure to work with. I also agree with other reviews that 1/2 cup water isn't quite enough. To get it to a workable paste, I needed closer to 3/4 cup. I don't let it sit overnight but I do let it cool to room temperature and use it within a few hours. It makes such a beautiful, workable dough! I make this in my stand mixer and it have never found that I need to add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
When I started beating this in my stand mixer I thought it was a gonner, climbed the beaters and was impossible to do, so I got my hand mixer out and mixed it but only staying on the top of the dough and occasionally turning the dough with a spoon, But it turned out absolutely delicious, like all have said, pillowy soft. This will be one of my frequent bread recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made mine in the KA. It produced two smaller loaves. I was pleased with the rise process as well as the texture of the dough, however a little discouraged as they didn't bake up as large as expected. I read some other reviews after making the bread and I agree with a few things. My roux was a ball of dough, not a paste, but I still pulled off lumps and added it to the dough like the paste. Also adding an extra 1/2tsp of yeast is necessary. I have had this kind of bread from the Asian Market and this is very close, probably the closest you could get at home. A few of the other reviewers said this wouldn't be an ideal sandwich bread but I disagree, the beau loved it with some ham and butter. Will be making this again, not as an every day table bread but certainly a good treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by VeraWa
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I couldn't see how only 1/2 cup of water was called for to make the roux? It resulted in a really stiff dough and was not enough liquid to incorporate 1 cup of flour. I ended up having to boil and add another 1/4 to 1/3 extra water. I used just one packet of rapid rise yeast which is equivalent to 2 1/4 tsp. and it doubled in size within 1 hr. to 1 hr. and 15 minutes. Though it has doubled in bulk this dough is really soft and doing the indentation test to check that the dough has risen enough is impossible. That is the stage I am at now and am getting ready to punch it down and form my loaf for (1) 9"x5" pan. Will update with my results. Results: Per comments, I opted to do just one 9"x5" loaf but I think I easily could have made 2 of the 8"x4" loaves (edit: was perfect for 2-5'x9's) though as this in one BIG loaf of bread!! (I used less yeast at 2 1/4 tsp, but since I used rapid rise that may account for the large "top". Only other change I made was to add the extra boiling water to the roux and I used it fresh. Other than that this was an easy and wonderful bread to make!! The first thing tomorrow morning I will be making more! Thanks! *edit* I googled for information regarding the "water roux" for bread making and from what I could find the flour should be 1 part to 5 parts water! I thought this roux was awfully thick! I had only uped my water from 1/2 c to just shy of 1 full cup, but it still came out good. Will try the suggestion of 1:5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Rosalia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Took forever to rise and my kitchen was plenty warm. I even tried to speed up the rising by setting the dough in a warm/turned-off oven. Obviously there wasn't enough yeast for the amount of flour, so next time I will add another 1/2 teaspoon or so. The end result is a dense, moist bread but a little too sweet forsandwiches. Would taste fine as a dessert bread. I baked in one 9x5 loaf pan and it was perfect. Dividing this into two loaves would definitely create loaves too small. I also used fresh roux without the overnight and it turned out fine. Unlike a real bread sponge, letting this sit overnight doesn't make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States