Asian Turkey Barbecue on Sesame Scallion Toasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Definately a great way to get rid of the last of the Christmas turkey!! I added some water and soya sauce to make it a little thinner and had it over rice. A big hit at our house, we'll be using it again for leftover turkey for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I gave this 5 stars because it is so different from traditional left over turkey recipes and was very fast and easy to make. I thought this sounded like an asian barbecue and decided to serve it on ciabatta rolls instead of english muffins. Also made a coleslaw that I added hoisen sauce to and served on the sandwich. YUMMY! Next time I will add some fresh cilantro and maybe a squeeze of fresh lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Thanks for the great recipe! I used raw turkey breast (small cubes) sauteed in dark sesame seed oil with salt/pepper before adding the sauce. Full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I thought this just tasted like plain barbecue. Sorry, it just seemed like a lot of work for nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was wonderful! I spooned the mixture over white rice. Made a delicious Asian meal. Family and mother enjoyed it very much. Great way to use leftover Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Check, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Kent, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This use up the last of the holiday turkey and what a finale. I would not add any salt as the Hoisin sauce and Barbecue sauce are salty enough. I did add some 5 spice powder and hot pepper flakes. Yum. I guess you could add some chopped water chestnuts for texture. Will save recipe for next Christmas turkey leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I needed to use up a couple of cups of Christmas turkey, so this recipe was perfect. I was really surprised how much Husband liked it! The flavors are quite unique, and work well together. I really don't understand how anyone can think this tastes like regular barbecue... Anyway, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
When I went to the store and realized how many things I needed and how expensive a few of the things are I almost gave up on it but I'm SO GLAD I didn't. This was really good. I will definitely remember to recommend this recipe around Thanksgiving time. And I disagree with the person who thought it was just like a barbeque taste. It definitely had some unique, yummy flavors in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I was skeptical of so many good ratings, but i gave this one a whirl with all my leftover turkey. I was glad i did, but i did substitue a few things. I used sourdough french rolls instead of english muffins, used chinese bbq sauce (found next to the hoisen sauce in the ethnic foods section), and i used chinese five spice powder in place of the ginger. Hubby says its like a chinese sloppy joe. the end result was fragrant and beautiful, and sure beats a regular turkey sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
My family all enjoyed this recipe. We also had it over rice, instead of toast. I think it would work equally well with chicken, possibly add some cashews or peanuts as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States