Asian Sugar Snap Pea Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Delicious hot, better at room temp - which was perfect since I brought it to a potluck. The dish got rave reviews. I made a few changes for personal taste and lack of listed ingredients: 1 clove of minced garlic added to the olive oil instead of the garlic flavored oil; 10 drops of Tabasco instead of chili oil, but next time I'll add more; and more brown sugar - about two tablespoons - yum! I used sugar snap peas fresh picked from my garden and they retained their crunch even when I ate the leftovers later. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
We loved this! Simple and easy and so delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Fantastic! To keep the calories down even more I broiled the peas with out oil. I don't think they need it! Then added fresh garlic to the soy sauce, used crushed red pepper flakes instead of the chili and I doubled the sugar, sesame oil is perfect. Loved it! Can't wait to make this with green beans too. Next time I will sprinkle the sesame seeds on right before serving so they don't sink to the bottom with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
WOW! These were absolutely delicious! I didn't have garlic infused oil so I faked it by pressing a clove of garlic into some olive oil. I also didn't have chili oil, but I used about a quarter teaspoon of tabasco and it worked great with on weirdness from the vinegar base in the hot sauce. I intended to use these as a side dish, but I kept "appetizing" on them and there weren't many left by the time the meal was served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I love sugar snap peas and was so happy to come across this recipe. Usually we just have them with ranch dip at parties, etc. I wanted to serve this as a side dish veggie so here's what I did. I didn't have garlic flavored olive oil so I put the peas in a bowl, drizzled them with some EVOO and mixed in a couple tsp. of minced garlic. Then I transferred this to a rimmed baking sheet that I had coated with cooking spray. I baked them at 400 for about 10-12 minutes, just till slightly tender when pierced with a fork. I used 1/2 tsp. of both the sesame oil and brown sugar and omitted the chili oil (personal preference). They were great as a side dish for baked salmon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Mmmm, loved these! I had some sugar snap peas to use in the fridge and came across this one and they were so yummy and a snap to make! I decided to steam mine which completely omits the use of the olive oil , used good quality low sodium tamari and since I didn't have chili oil, used some red pepper flakes per other reviewers. Added granulated garlic to my mixture since I wasn't using the garlic olive oil. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I loved these. I am always trying to find ways to make green vegetables edible for us...we aren't big green veggie fans...and these were incredible!! Ate them at room temperature and followed the recipe exactly. Delicious. I think this would also be great way to prepare broccoli or snow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This has been aq big hit with my family. We like it a little more spicy so I use 2tsp chili oil and 1/4 cup brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Wow! Talk about easy - and tasty! I was looking for a quick recipe to use up some sugar snap peas in my fridge, and I just so happened to have everything I needed to make these! They made a great accompaniment to the grilled steaks, baked potatoes and salad we served them with. Even my picky 13-year-old son liked them - the rest of us LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Delish, delish, delish! Omitted the sesame oil and kicked it up with some cayenne...can't wait to use on other veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States