Asian Style Country Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I followed the recipe with the exception of the slow cooker. Instead, I baked in the oven at 350 degrees WITH the remaining marinade for about an hour or until tender. DELICIOUS - the marinade flavor stayed in the meat and was really good. Spoon the drippings over the meat. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These are very tasty and the meat was tender. A few of the ribs had bones and they were much juicier and better than the boneless. Typical of most slow cooking a lot of liquid/fat was released into the cooking liquid so it didn't have the strong Asian flavor of the beginning marinade and was actually rather thin and boring. Since I like to serve some the liquid over the meat or with rice, noodles, etc. I think next time I will make extra marinade to set aside and add it near the end to about 1/4 of the cooking liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Very tender and delicious. I marinated overnight, but instead of discarding the marinade I just cooked it with it. Very good just the right amount of heat for those that can't handle a lot of heat. THe only change I made was to use a little less sesame oil because I don't like it as much and used garlic and ginger powder. YUMMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is similar to a popular Korean food called Kalbi, but Kalbi is made with beef, so I think this marinade will work with beef, like round steak. I didn't have lime juice so used lemon instead, and I didn't have Sriracha sauce so I used 1/2 tsp of hot pepper flakes. I marinaded for only 3 hours and then cooked in the oven at 350 for 1 hours (I didn't know I had to marinade it until I was getting to make it for today). It was delicious! My daughter, who just turned two, asked for more after she finished her plate. It probably could have been marinaded a bit longer, but I put leftover marinade juice on the meat (I should also note that I only used 3 boneless meat for the entire marinade). The meat was still tender (not like crock pot tender but tender enough), but I thought it was a little salty so I'll use less soy sauce next time. Overall, it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Na Ree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
We loved this!!! I made a couple changes due to other comments. Added 1/4 cup of honey extra due to the comments and help balance the saltiness. Didnt have fresh ginger so used ground ginger powder and crushed red pepper (didnt have or know what Sriracha hot pepper sauce)and only used all olive oil--didnt have sesame oil. But we LOVED IT!! and will definitly make again!! Cooked on low for 7 hours and it was just falling apart! Made veggie fried rice to go with and the sauce blended with it and made it that much better! Going to try with chuck roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I really loved this recipe - the flavor and ease of preparation make it a favorite. The second time I made it I switched recipe amounts of olive oil and sesame oil just because the sesame oil seemed a little bit strong the first time around. I also had to decrease the cooking time by an hour, and that actually worked better for my slow cooker. These are so yummy, I found myself eating them cold right out of the fridge the next day! I served them with rice and roasted asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was extremely delicious. The best rib recipe I've tasted. I did make a few changes but the flavor is exquisite. I used bone-in ribs, added five spice powder, substituted red pepper flakes, and then baked them at 330 degrees for 1 1/2 hours in their marinade. Just before baking, I added a couple tablespoons of tomato sauce. I served it with coconut rice and ceasar salad. Good cookin', Aliskill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
My husband LOVED this, and he is very hard to please, especially when it comes to Asian fare. He is Filipino, and the son of a professional chef, so there you go :) Oh, and I had to substitute 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes for the hot sauce because I didn't know what that was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Zita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Great, simple recipe. I used bone-in ribs....and they turned out fine. I also used 1 TBS Sriracha. Excellent with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Yummy! Hubby loves ribs and with an Asian flare, these are a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States