Asian Style Country Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Stayed pretty close to the original recipe. Marinated overnight in the crock (ribs were mostly submerged and coated the rest of the way around), and cooked all day the following day (unintentionally going a few hours overtime) without discarding any marinade. This extra time may have dried it out a little bit but it was so tender it wouldn't so much fall apart as simply explode the moment touched by a fork/utensil. Reheating subsequent days didn't toughen it up too much, so long as the moisture was kept in. I accidentally (multitasking) used several times too much spice and it wasn't a problem, came out flavorful but not at all painful. Soy aminos (I use Braggs but probably any will do) in lieu of traditional soy sauce can help with the saltiness. I thickened up the leftover juices/marinade combination using flour to make a gravy (unhealthy but delicious) which was good both for serving reheated ribs (keeps in moisture) and for flavoring rice as a side dish - it makes a LOT, still finding ways to use that up, but I don't like waste and I do like the flavor. A good recipe made great by its resilience to human error, trivial prep, and negligible cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Loved it as did others cooked in oven after grilling for 20 min. Cut soy in half added 1/2 t. Tumeric. Family loved it. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Even using low sodium soy sauce, it was way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
My ribs fell apart in the crock pot. Was more like pulled pork but delish anyway! Served mine with coconut rice as well. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great recipe. I would also add less sesame oil and some brown sugar especially if you are not eating the ribs with rice or something else. It tended to run a bit too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Yum yum yum… yum. P.S. yum! I don't know how to cook but I thought this looked interesting. I accidentally mixed up the recipe by using 2 T of Sesame and 3/4 olive oil. Also didn't have Sriracha hot sauce so used sesame chili oil ( to make up for the fact I messed up the before mentioned). Didn't matter - it was delicious! Even better next day. Cant wait to make it again - this time with the right mix of ingredients! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
First off, the sauce is amazing. (We kept the sauce and served the ribs with wild rice. The kids loved the sauce mixed into the rice.) However, I took the suggestion from some of the reviews to cook these in the oven and that was a HUGE mistake. The ribs were very tough and kind of tasteless even though I had marinated them overnight. I think if I had done them in the crockpot, they would have been tender and I would have given the recipe 5 stars...so probably not the recipe's fault. I'll try them again in a slow cooker. Personally, I would NOT recommend baking them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Pretty good. A bit salty and I used half the soy. But I did put all marinade in crock pot. My kids at it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micah Ouellette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was not a hit at my house. I decreased the soy sauce and it was still too salty. I also added more brown sugar and it still needed more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I had a package of Country Style Ribs that I needed to use .... I did a search and liked this recipe. Since my package was smaller I halved the recipe for the sauce and elected to use it for use in a slow cooker instead of marinating it. I put the ribs in, covered them with the sauce, added a bit of ground pepper and cooked them on low for about 7 hours. An hour before serving I put a can of rinsed/drained black beans in. I would recommend this slight variation highly. I seldom rate a revised recipe but the sauce is the real winner here .... oh, and if you like spicy - double the Asian spicy garlic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States