Asian Style Country Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
First off, the sauce is amazing. (We kept the sauce and served the ribs with wild rice. The kids loved the sauce mixed into the rice.) However, I took the suggestion from some of the reviews to cook these in the oven and that was a HUGE mistake. The ribs were very tough and kind of tasteless even though I had marinated them overnight. I think if I had done them in the crockpot, they would have been tender and I would have given the recipe 5 stars...so probably not the recipe's fault. I'll try them again in a slow cooker. Personally, I would NOT recommend baking them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Pretty good. A bit salty and I used half the soy. But I did put all marinade in crock pot. My kids at it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micah Ouellette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was not a hit at my house. I decreased the soy sauce and it was still too salty. I also added more brown sugar and it still needed more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I had a package of Country Style Ribs that I needed to use .... I did a search and liked this recipe. Since my package was smaller I halved the recipe for the sauce and elected to use it for use in a slow cooker instead of marinating it. I put the ribs in, covered them with the sauce, added a bit of ground pepper and cooked them on low for about 7 hours. An hour before serving I put a can of rinsed/drained black beans in. I would recommend this slight variation highly. I seldom rate a revised recipe but the sauce is the real winner here .... oh, and if you like spicy - double the Asian spicy garlic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Good flavor, but just a wee bit salty from the soy sauce, and we even cut it back to half the amount. Only used half the sesame oil and that was plenty for flavor, I thing it would be overpowering otherwise. Used tabasco sauce for the Sriracha. We baked it, covered, at 325 for about 1 1/2 hours and did not shred. Tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This w a s delicious, even after freezing leftovers and having them again . The flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Everyone liked it, from 6 and up. The notation of 12 ribs is a little vague. I used approximately 3.5 lbs. of boneless country style pork ribs. I made changes as some have suggested...reduced soy sauce to 1/2 cup, reduced sesame oil to about 3-4 Tbsp. (all I had left!), added 1/4 water, added 1/4 cup honey and increased Sriracha to 2 Tbsp. Also doubled the garlic and ginger. Served with steamed carrots, edamame and rice. I know it's not necessarily an authentic pairing but the kids ate heartily! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Marinated during the day, followed another reviewer's advice and baked in the oven for 1.5 hours. These were exceptional. We used the reserve juices to make a glaze. We had no Sriracha, so used chilli powder. I can't believe how amazing, moist and fall-off-the-bone these were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Terrific! Like others suggested, I switched the amounts of sesame oil and olive oil, added 1/4 cup honey, and made extra marinade to cook with the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I marinated and cooked as directed, the only difference was I added a small amount of honey as was suggested. This recipe was salty, dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States