Asian Spicy Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was different - I'll give it that, but I'm not sure if I'd call it Asian. I used Hellman's light mayo and since I didn't have fresh ginger root I opted for a bit of ground giner. I used green onoin since no "type" of onion was specified. I did add the optional curry powder. This was a nice change from regular tuna salad, but one I don't think I'd make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This wasn't particularly Asian nor spicy. I used an entire jalapeno, not just 1/2 teaspoon, doubled the curry powder and added celery and diced seeded cucumber. I just couldn't bring myself to put mayo in an "Asian" salad, so I made a vinaigrette from rice vinegar, soy sauce and sesame oil. Also, I used chopped green onions instead of white. With the changes, this came out very good. Spicy and Asian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
A very nice change from the usual tuna salad. I can't give it 5 stars because the mayo amount is way off. 1/4 cup is a crazy amount. More like 1-2 T is all you need. I also don't use as much onion, but that's just my preference. It's just as good to sub lime for lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
It was good...nice change from the regular "plain" tuna salad. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was really different, which is why I liked it! All the flavors went together really well. I did make this an hour before I ate it, so the flavors would mesh together a bit. I did use a couple green onions, I upped the curry to a full teaspoon and I used olive oil mayonnaise. I did not have fresh ginger so I used 1/4 tsp. ground ginger. I also added 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder. I spread this on cucumber slices and it was a really enjoyable lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I thought this was a very good recipe for Tuna. I didn't have fresh ginger root so I used ground ginger instead. My family enjoyed the different blend of spices. I would make this again. Was good with crackers as well as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I have never had good results mixing lemon juice with mayo. It always seperates turns out in a watery mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pudd2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I cut back on the mayo, added a little soy sauce and used just a small amount of ground ginger, but upped the curry powder. Very enjoyable and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This turned out pretty well - a very nice departure from the traditional tuna sandwhich. It has a bit of a kick, which is good. The ginger added a nice accent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by violetgrr
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Not particularly asian. And kinda bitter. I think its the fresh ginger and curry. I didn't have any mayo or chiles so my review of this recipe probably isn't very valid. That said, I don't think those items would've made too much difference. I used cilantro and horseradish cream instead (yum, right?) and wasn't too thrilled. Its okay though- I ripped up a bunch of lettuce and stuck a scoop of this tuna madness on top. With a little bit of italian dressing and parm cheese, it was a good little meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States