Asian Spicy Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was different - I'll give it that, but I'm not sure if I'd call it Asian. I used Hellman's light mayo and since I didn't have fresh ginger root I opted for a bit of ground giner. I used green onoin since no "type" of onion was specified. I did add the optional curry powder. This was a nice change from regular tuna salad, but one I don't think I'd make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This wasn't particularly Asian nor spicy. I used an entire jalapeno, not just 1/2 teaspoon, doubled the curry powder and added celery and diced seeded cucumber. I just couldn't bring myself to put mayo in an "Asian" salad, so I made a vinaigrette from rice vinegar, soy sauce and sesame oil. Also, I used chopped green onions instead of white. With the changes, this came out very good. Spicy and Asian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
A very nice change from the usual tuna salad. I can't give it 5 stars because the mayo amount is way off. 1/4 cup is a crazy amount. More like 1-2 T is all you need. I also don't use as much onion, but that's just my preference. It's just as good to sub lime for lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
It was good...nice change from the regular "plain" tuna salad. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was really different, which is why I liked it! All the flavors went together really well. I did make this an hour before I ate it, so the flavors would mesh together a bit. I did use a couple green onions, I upped the curry to a full teaspoon and I used olive oil mayonnaise. I did not have fresh ginger so I used 1/4 tsp. ground ginger. I also added 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder. I spread this on cucumber slices and it was a really enjoyable lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I thought this was a very good recipe for Tuna. I didn't have fresh ginger root so I used ground ginger instead. My family enjoyed the different blend of spices. I would make this again. Was good with crackers as well as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I have never had good results mixing lemon juice with mayo. It always seperates turns out in a watery mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pudd2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I cut back on the mayo, added a little soy sauce and used just a small amount of ground ginger, but upped the curry powder. Very enjoyable and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This turned out pretty well - a very nice departure from the traditional tuna sandwhich. It has a bit of a kick, which is good. The ginger added a nice accent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by violetgrr
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Not particularly asian. And kinda bitter. I think its the fresh ginger and curry. I didn't have any mayo or chiles so my review of this recipe probably isn't very valid. That said, I don't think those items would've made too much difference. I used cilantro and horseradish cream instead (yum, right?) and wasn't too thrilled. Its okay though- I ripped up a bunch of lettuce and stuck a scoop of this tuna madness on top. With a little bit of italian dressing and parm cheese, it was a good little meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States