Asian Spiced Chicken in Wonton Cups with Vanilla Apricot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I can't believe how good this recipe is. My husband can't wait until we have our next dinner group over so we can wow our guests with this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was very good! I did not think that there was too much cumin in the marinade, as I like the spice a lot. However, as other reviewers mentioned, "Asian" in the title makes little sense. The wonton is pretty much the only Asian thing about this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Good stuff and I have to say, really fun to make! This was the first time I've ever used wonton wraps. They looked so pretty too, I wish I would have taken a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailey5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I would definitely make this again, but I would make some adjustments. I love d the marinade for the chicken and will use it again. I was not a huge fan of the apricot vanilla sauce, it smelled so sweet that I almost didn't put it on the chicken. However, a small amount on each of the chicken cups was fine. I also forgot to put the spinach in, which I think would have made it even better. I used a little more then half the chicken mixture in 15 phyllo cups and had the rest of the chicken mixed with a little mayo and pine nuts for lunch today (which was delicious). I may try a different jelly type sauce the next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I served this for entertaining one night through the week and it was a huge hit! I made triple the servings for a party of 5 and they were begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
this was very good - could easily be a 5 star with a few adjustments. I think it either needs less cumin or more apricot sauce - i had to add some sweet chili sauce to make it taste less dry. Overall, a good appetizer that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I didn't care much for the original recipe, but I added 1/4 cup mayo, 1/4 cup sour cream, chopped basil and ginger and a pince of garlic sauce to the final chicken mixture and chilled it. It made the best chicken salad I've ever had! I served it in wonton cups made by cutting eggrole wrappers in 1/4s and baking them in a mini-muffin pan. I put these out as snacks before trick-or-treat and they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRADDE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made this appetizer for a pot luck dinner and it was a huge hit, appealing to all my friends tastes (even the picky ones!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
The presentation is 5 stars, however the marinated chicken was a little too strong for me. I used only 1/2 tsp of cumin and I think the next time I make this I will only add 1 tbsp of soy sauce. I loved the vanilla apricot sauce!!!! It was real easy to make and fun to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I made my own cups out of phyllo dough, I used a 13 oz can of chunk chicken & I subbed chopped bell pepper for the spinach. I used minced garlic instead of the garlic powder & I added 2 tbp. of hoisin sauce. I served these on top of jasmine rice (I put a little bit of the sauce on the rice too) w/ steamed snow peas. We loved this dish...even my grandkids cleaned their plates! (for my infant granddaughter, I mixed the meat mixture in w/ rice & drizzled sauce over)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States