Asian Salmon Wrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I love this idea. I went a little crazy with it when I made it because I wanted it to fit with what I had at the time, but the results were fantastic--really light, but very filling. I julienned cucumber, daikon, carrots, and white onion. I sauted a little gai-lan in peanut oil. Heated the tortilla in the same oil and then proceeded to fry some 1/4 block of tofu (I didn't have any salmon). I layed the julienned veggies and tofu in the tortilla with some green onions (only the greens) split length-wise, pickled ginger, 1/2 sliced avocado, and Sriracha sauce. For the dressing I mixed a teaspoon of the juice from the pickled ginger with the soy sauce, rice vinegar, wasabi paste, sesame seeds, the diced whites from the green onions, and half a teaspoon of sugar. I spooned the dressing on to the insides before I wrapped it up. I had some left over veggies and dressing so I made a little side salad with it. It was a wonderful and easy lunch that I'll certainly make again. Next time I think I'll add some nori and try it with the salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This recipe rocks! I had to make a couple changes to suit my family, so here's what I did -- The cucumber I bought at the store had a really bitter flavor (??? it looked fine!) so I substituted slices of avocado, instead. Instead of tossing the dressing with the avocado, I just put it in a squirt bottle and drizzled it over the wrap once I had it assembled. It was DELISH! My picky family loved it, and I love that this dish can be customized any way you want. I put out some of our favorite sushi condiments as well (pickled ginger, wasabi for the brave...) and everyone loved it. I can totally see turning this into a fun party appetizer, by making pinwheels with the ingredients. Sort of like sushi for those too chicken to try sushi! I had no problem with canned salmon. If you get a good quality salmon, it works just fine. It would be fine with grilled salmon, as well. Thanks for this recipe! This is definitely going into frequent rotation at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Burch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Great recipe - the flavors of sushi but quick and easy to make. I used fresh ginger, which added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
We loved this. We doubled the sauce and veggies and used sweet brown rice and "Flatout" wraps. Like the description says, the dressing and textures are a great combination. I used apple cider vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar because that is what I had on hand. Our 1yr old connoisseur asked for 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I love sushi, but nori paper is so expensive. This gives me my fix! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I followed the advice of a number of the reviews and used what I had on hand. I had leftover maple baked salmon (from AllRecipes!) and whole wheat rice. I heat it up a little because cold rice is not too tasty. I didn't have the radish so added thin slices of red peppers. Easy and fancy lunch! Thank you, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pammer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe was good and I will make it again. Be warned though it can turn out very salty. Next time I will use redused salt soy sauce and/or but salt free salmon. I also added chopped carrots in place of the radish and added honey. I made this in a flour tortilla wrap and added a slice of romaine lettuce. This turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
4 1/2 stars, actually. Very nice blend of flavors - this is great when you don't feel like heating up the house with the oven and want something light and fresh. A couple of things I'll do differently next time ~ I discovered that I dislike canned salmon, so I'd use either fresh or pieces of tuna steak or shrimp - I think the tuna and/or shrimp would work nicely here. Secondly, I'd make more of the soy sauce mixture - Loved the taste and felt the wraps could have used more. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I made several changes, but I kept the spirit of the recipe, and I really liked this. I used fresh salmon, which I baked with leftover homemade Pad Thai sauce; used brown rice and whole-wheat tortilla; grated the daikon and cuke; used chopped pickled ginger and more wasabi; toasted the sesame seeds; and mixed all ingredients (including the sauce) together. I added a sheet of nori on top of the tortilla, spooned in the mix, and rolled it all up--delish! I'd also serve this in a bibb/Boston lettuce leaf. Big bonus--not a lot of dishes to clean afterward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Hmm, could be better. Will try again with these changes: shredded daikon (very common in Japan), use fresh salmon (maybe even the salted kind), and toasted sesame seeds. I thought overall the flavor was good, but the canned salmon turned me off. I used toasted seeds because that's what I have on hand. Since this is an asian inspired wrap, I found it odd being on a flour tortilla. Next time I'll try wrapping it in lettuce. It will highlight the flavors of everything else and be lower in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States