Asian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I ADORE this recipe! I actually have this same recipe from a co-worker, but what I use is the packaged slaw cabbage from the produce section, and I also add some of the flavor package from the ramen noodles to the dressing. Just taste it until it's to your liking. I also just toast the noodles, almonds, sesame seeds (and sometimes sunflower seeds) in the oven, rather than in butter. Just spread on a cookie sheet and toast at about 300 degrees and watch until brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Way too fat for our tastes...changed to 1/4 cup oil, 3 tbsp vinegar, 3 tbsp sugar. Didn't use butter at all, but toasted sesame seeds and almonds in oven at 350 for 7 minutes. Every one raves over this recipe, and it's a lot healthier, with less juice in bottom of bowl. I also added the flavour pack from the ramen noodles to the dressing and it was to die for. Thanks for the great start though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This was really great! My husband is a chef and soooo picky and he said he REALLY liked it and would eat the leftovers. I read through the other reviews and took the advice of a few others. I cut the sugar to 1/3 cup, used rice vinegar, put 3/4 t of sesame oil in and put the 2 seasoning packets from the ramen after the dressing cooled. I also mixed everything in 3 separate containers and mixed just as much as we ate for dinner - good idea! I also added about 1/2 cup of chopped cilantro and 1 can of chopped water chestnuts to the napa cabbage for a little more flavor. It turned out great! We are having this again very soon. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Am I the only one who gets annoyed when people completely change the recipe so it bears no resemblance to the original and then give it a low star rating? Like someone substituting spinach for the napa cabbage...seriously, that is not even an Asian salad any more. sheesh. Change it all you want, but don't then come along and rate the original recipe poorly just because your changes don't work out. Thanks for letting me get that off my chest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
this is a great and easy to make salad... with some modifications: - i used a spinach mixture instead of the napa - added some mandarin oranges and water chestnuts - substituted olive oil (much healthier than vegetable oil) and only needed 1/4 cup, not 3/4! - eliminated butter entirely and just toasted all the crunchy stuff YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Loved this recipe!! My only complaint (but will modify for future uses) is that it says "cool" the sauce mix, when really, I think that it would taste better chilled (apprx 1 hour?) before pouring over the salad. I also used the pre-packed/pre-shredded cole-slaw mix, which saved on time. Next time, I will either buy a bigger package of the slaw or use one and 1/2 bags so that the oil mix doesn't create "soup" at the bottom. Finally, I think I'll also add half chopped green bell pepper. Overall, we loved and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Next time I will omit the butter and toast the almonds and sesame seeds just as others had suggested. I also cut down the oil to 1/4 cup and may try cutting it down even more the next time I make this. Tasty salad, all around, although I am still searching for ways to make this a bit healthier, maybe add more cole-slaw mix to give it more bulk. I used one bag of pre-prepped cole slaw mix and thought it was a lot of slaw. But once you add the ingredients and start mixing everything, the volume shrinks down quite a bit. So again, maybe adding an extra bag of slaw, cutting down on the oil, upping the amount of vinegar and soy sauce, and omitting the butter may make this somewhat more healthy. Oh, and I did add the seasoning packet that comes with the ramen, that added extra flavor. UPDATE: I still had tons of leftovers from when I made this a few days ago, so I added another entire bag of pre-mixed slaw, and again, it seemed like a lot, but when you mix it, the volume shrinks down. Definitely just as tasty. I will always use 2 bags the next time I make this, or, just use one bag of slaw, and just one package of ramen and cut out the butter and cut down on the oil as I had mentioned earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrotcakefreak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was great.. I also did not use the butter for browning the noodles/almonds/sesame seeds. I just put spray PAM into the pan w/about 1 tsp of sesame seed oil and browned over low heat. Once browned, I put one packet of the Ramen seasoning into the noodle/almond/sesame seed mixture. I also eliminated the 3/4 cup vegetable oil and reduced to 1/4 c olive oil with about a TBS of sesame oil. It turned out really great. I ended up using one full bag of slaw mixture and a half head of Napa cabbage..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Excellent, easy recipe and delicious. My only issue, and the only reason I gave it 4 stars rather than 5, was the amount of oil. I am going to try it with slightly less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Really good salad. I measured most of my ingredients free hand. I didn't add the green onions (too lazy to chop...I'm feeling a bit under the weather today), but I don't think it made much difference. I didn't add the sesame seeds because I didn't have any and added an extra spoonful of soy sauce and brown sugar. Tossing some mandarin oj's in there gives it a nice touch. I served this along with the Asiago Toasted Cheese Puffs from this site. Thanks for this submission Juanita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States