Asian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
We love this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yoakum, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I also used olive oil but less amount and I used rice vinegar. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is such a yummy salad (though not very healthy) I substitute sesame oil for the butter (about 1/4 c) and olive oil for the veg oil. I also add a little more soy sauce. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
The sauce was phenomenal. I'd recommend trying this with Grilled Peanut Chicken, if that recipe tickles your fancy. This salad doesn't work well as leftovers, so don't make more than you can eat in one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
My family LOVES this recipe. I always throw in some mandarin oranges to make it a little sweeter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Excellent! I didn't have cabbage so I just used a bagged garden salad mix instead and that worked out perfectly. I microwaved the oil/sugar mixture for 1 1/2 minutes and allowed it to cool fully before adding the soy sauce and it thickened and emulsified perfectly using only a spoon to stir. For the noodle/almond/sesame seed topping, I did cut back on the butter, used about half, and it was outstanding. I didn't think that I would care for the sesame seeds much but decided to add them anyway as stated and found that they impart a wonderful rich nuttiness to the overall flavor. This topping would be great on other salads as well. Also, I added frozen grilled chicken strips (cooked in the microwave of course) to the salad to make it a meal. The whole family loved it. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
LOVED IT! No leftovers at my house. Took it to my family's house for dinner and everyone asked for the recipe. Can't go wrong with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pukalani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was a hit at our Labor Day party. I have only two suggestions: 1. Use 1/2 the amount of butter called for. 2. Add shredded carrots. The carrots made the salad more appealing to the eye and gave it a more complex flavor. This is a great picnic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Awesome! However, 1/2 of butter to cook the ramen noodles and almonds in is way toooo much -- Pam cooking spray will do the trick and cut the fat and calories. I used broccoli/cabbage mix instead of bok choy -- this was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Great! Just the recipe I was looking for. I used Pam instead of butter and a 16 oz. bag of coleslaw in place of the shredded cabbage. It made things a lot easier and less fattening without really altering the basic recipe. I can't wait to try this one out on others. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States