Asian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This is a great place to start. I'm sure it's great as-is, but I tried to make it a little healthier by following the advice of others and it turned out really well. My husband loved it. Changes: used EVOO for oil and reduced to 1/4 c; used rice vinegar; used Splenda and reduced to 3 tbs. Was still too sweet so I added a little fresh ginger and some chili garlic sauce for kick; used low-sodium soy sauce. Added shredded carrots, sliced snow peas and a handful of chopped cilantro to the slaw mix; tossed the crunchies with a little sesame & chili oils and baked for a few minutes. Also only tossed enough for dinner and stored the 3 components separately to avoid sogginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This recipe is a great start. I am doing weight watchers and tried to use minimal oil and butter. I think the flavor was great with just a few tablespoons of olive oil. Also added mandarin oranges in their juice to cut back on the sugar. I used chicken ramen noodles and the seasoning packets. It was better using nappa cabbage, added snap peas and slivered carrots to get even more veggies. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is the best salad recipe ever! So easy to make and wonderful flavor! I added shredded carrots for color and added another veggie too. Also used olive oil, used 3 packages of Ramen Noodles and about 3-4 tablespoons of sesame seeds. What flavor it gave to toast the noodles, seeds and almonds. I will make this recipe over and over. Will rty to add some breaded chicken to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good! I cut back on the oil and butter as others have done. I read the leftovers were not great and I only have my son and I to feed. So problem solved: I just keep the dressing and cooked crunchies (seperate) in the fridge and make up a small amount when we want some. If you have only tried the pre-packaged cabbage -you MUST try the real thing Napa cabbage is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bailey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I love making this salad to take to parties, etc. I have also made it with some store-bought chicken tenders and cut them up to make family meal on the go. It is GREAT for swim meets or when you need "cooler food" to go! I also add sunflower seeds and use olive oil instead of butter and sunflower oil instead of the veg oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Yum! I have tried other versions of asian salads and this one is the best. I think toasting the noodles, sesame seeds and almonds is the difference. I used two bags of coleslaw mix and added the packet of seasoning to the dressing.. Perfect !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was a yummy salad. I used the canned noodles and added pineapple. I used the dressing as a marinade for grilled chicken which went on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Oh soooh good! One of the very best salad combinations that I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.D. Twinbells

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This dish is excellent! I used 1 1/2 bags of coleslaw instead of cabbage. I also made the entire batch of dressing and used it all. However, I did cut back on the veg oil by 1/8 cup and substituted this with sesame oil. The sesame oil adds so much flavor! This dish was a hit and I'll definitely make it again. A tip when you're toasting the noodles, nuts and seeds: you can dry toast them in a large skillet over medium heat. Toast the sesame seeds separately though because they sink to the bottom and toast quickly and may burn before the others are done. Just stir everything around until it looks golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
OMGosh! This is fabulous! I did make a few alterations as suggested by other reviews. 1) I toasted the sesame seeds ( black sesame seeds was all my store had on hand), ramen noodles & almonds at 300 until browned. About 10 minutes. Made the sauce ahead of time & made sure it was completely chilled before tossing with cabbage. Then I added the noodles, seeds & nuts on top. Will do this again with seared tuna next time. YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States