Asian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was pretty fantastic but I got rid of the butter and toasted some various noodles and sesame seeds in the oven instead. Then I tossed it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I thought this salad was delicious and all the flavors really complimented each other. I gave it a 4 because my boyfriend thought the salad was very good but that the noodles on top were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I make this recipe a lot! but I dont toast the noodles, sesame seeds or almonds. I dont use the soy sauce, but I do add the season pack from the noodles to the dressing. I also add a large can of cooked chicken,drained. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mechelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clay City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
When I decided to finally use up my napa cabbage, I turned to this recipe with low expectations. I halved the recipe and still had way too much. Surprisingly, I liked this salad as is but using only 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil. Next time, I would like to make sugared almonds, using brown sugar, and put on top of the salad. Also, I would like to decrease the butter to 2 tablespoons, use 2 tablespoons white sugar for the sauce, and 1 tablespoon of brown sugar for the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is a wonderful salad - however I halved the dressing and topping ingredients and it came out great. I can't imagine using twice the amount that was on my salad. I also drained my topping mix on paper towels after browning - this removed a lot of grease and collected a lot of over-browned crumbs onto the towel. I added two broccoli tops, chopped in a small dice, and that added a lot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Phenomenal!!!!! I use chicken flavored ramen noodles and add the seasoning packets to the dressing. I bring this dish to a church dinner every month and am constantly asked for the recipe. Recipe is very flexible - can use pre-packaged slaw mix, shredded broccoli, red or green cabbage, or any combination thereof. Other nuts, such as walnuts or cashews can be used, and I sometimes toast the noodles and nuts in a 350 oven for about 10 minutes. Using splenda will keep the cabbage from releasing it's water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Too oily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
My favorite salad ever. I didn't even know I liked cabbage. I followed the directions this time and loved it. Next time I will use half of the butter (you can ommit it, but I just love the butter flavor). I will also use a little less oil in the dressing. If your nappa cabbage isn't very large this recipe will make too much dressing. I will also seperate the 3 sections for left overs. It was seriously so good and so easy. ALSO- if you have a food processor use that because I really like the small shreads of the cabbage. If you are just using a knife- chop cabbage into small shreads. This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
LOVE this recipe! I make it over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is a good start to an asian salad recipe. You can play with it to make it to your liking. I definitely agree with those that say serve the dressing on the side. I used chili/sesame oil instead of vegetable oil, gave the dressing a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States