Asian Roll Lettuce Wrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This is awesome, fun, and healthy! The only change I made was that instead of making the meatballs, I simply browned and crumbled the meat in a frying pan, drained the fat, then added the soy, garlic and ginger and sautéed for another 2 minutes. We ran out of lettuce near the end, so we wrapped some of the rolls in rice paper wrappers, which was also delicious (and easier and less messy to eat). Next time I think that we will wrap them all in rice paper, and add shredded lettuce to the rolls. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Great recipe! Instead of making meatballs, I browned the ground beef, added 1 cup of the already cooked rice and poured the sauce over the meat and rice. I also added about a teaspoon of hot chili oil for a little kick. I have eight children and they all loved it. The hot meat mixture in the cool lettuce leaves is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This was delicious! I added about a tablespoon of applesauce to the turkey to help keep it moist. After rolling the turkey into ovals, I flatened a bit before skewering with 2 wooden skewers to help make it easier to flip on the grill. We also added just a splash of rice vinegar to the dipping sauce (in addition to the lemon juice) and offered chopped cilantro and Walla Walla (sweet) onions in addition to the other add-ins. Sweet chili sauce is a mildly spicy-sweet Asian condiment that went really well with this dish. (plum sauce would make a good substitute) For added eye appeal, we used a large round platter and lined with red leaf lettuce and placed the turkey skewers in a concentric circle on top. Dipping sauce was served in individual bowls at each place setting. It looked like a magazine spread! Great company dish since much of the prep work can be done ahead of time leaving you to enjoy your guests. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
My husband and I have always loved eating the lettuce wraps at Pei Wei. We thought these were even beter than the ones there. I didn't think it was a lot of prep time considering it's a whole meal. I would have doen just as much if I needed to do sides as well. Low cost and low fat; with loads of good flavor. As far as other reviews saying messy; lettuce wraps are supposed to be. I suggest two heads of lettuce just to get enough of the big leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Can you say "YUM"? These were great, I just crumbled ground turkey and sauteed with soy, ginger & garlic. Served with carrots/green onions/avacado pieces/freshly chopped cilantro and basil and basmati rice. There were NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Ok give the laziest person a tough job and they will find the easiest way to do it. My grill was out of gas and everyone said the meatball part was time consuming. I pressed the turkey mixture into a casserole pan to a thickness of about 1" and then turned it over and flipped it out onto my broiler pan so the grease would drip through. Brushed the surface with a little liquid smoke diluted in water and baked in 350 degree oven for 20 min. Cut in half to make it easier to flip it over and baked another 5min and then a quick broil to brown it. Sliced it into 1" strips and served it that way. My family wasn't thrilled with the sauce so I made a quick peanut sate' sauce with a couple TBS Peanut butter, water and milk to thin it down and a little splenda to sweeten it up. served with jasmine rice, shredded carrots and zucchini as filling. They really liked it! I will make again, but may try to use tortillas or crepes for the kids next time since they are not wild about lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This was such a fun recipe! It was a hit at a dinner party I had this weekend. Also try it with the Thai Peanut Butter Sauce found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
My boyfriend absolutely adores this recipe. He likes the crunchy veggies and putting it all together. I think that the sauce is a little bland, and I have added ginger and garlic and hot sauce to make it a bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
The flavor was great. I also crumbled the meat to save time and effort. Used the food processor to slice and shred, and used butter lettuce leaves instead of iceburg. But the lettuce tore very easy and it was a lot of work wrestling with it just to get a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
These are great, but the raw garlic is a bit much. I would suggest oven roasting the garlic, then adding it to the dipping sauce. Other than that, two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Asian Grilled Chicken

See how to make a quick-and-easy marinade for tender grilled chicken thighs.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States