Asian Roll Lettuce Wrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Followed the recipe except for one thing: I subbed jicama for the radishes for personal preference. Like most ethnic recipes, this one requires a lot of prep work. I found that the result was tasty, but not stellar. It was very healthy and had a satisfying crunch, but I found the dipping sauce to be a little off. If I do these again, I will try a sauce based on fish sauce and lime instead of soy and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
These were good, but salty, I added hoisen sauce to the meat and rice wine vinegar to the sauce and it was still over powering salty. I also used rice papers which made it alot easier, stuff wasn't falling out everywhere (if you've never used rice paper I suggest finding out how to use them). I would suggest using shrimp to add a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Great Recipe. Followed exactly as written. This is sooo light - perfect for a hot summer day. The ginger is what really makes this dish. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I found the meatballs to be dry and flavorless. Next time I would do as others suggested and fry ground chicken with the seasonings and sauce mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I also browned the ground turkey in a pan with the soy, ginger and garlic as other reviewers. I cut back on the fresh ginger, since it can be really overpowering. This was very tasty and refreshing for such a filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
very very tasty recipe!!! I have wanted to do make lettuce wraps at home for a little while now and originally made this for our family Valentine’s Day dinner. BIG HIT! I opted not to add the sugar to the sauce and used water chestnuts in place of the radishes as we forgot them when we went shopping :-) I made up a larger batch if the sauce - because I follow a gluten free diet I used Braggs Amino Acids instead of “Soy Sauce” – same great taste but good for you - and reserved most to add to the ground turkey meat that I browned instead of making the meatballs. After browning the meat, I added the shredded carrots, chestnuts, and sliced green onions, cooked brown rice, and some of the reserved sauce. I let it all cook together for a little longer on the stove top – melding the flavors to one another. FANTASTIC!!! I have made this dish twice now and can see this one becoming a regular family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
These are SOOO amazing...I won't be frequenting my favorite Thai restaurant to order lettuce wraps when I can make these at home. I used ground turkey and browned in pain adding all sauce and rice. They were PERFECT! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These are terrific. I just brown the turkey with seasonings, add the rest of the sauce ingredients and combine with the rice. My whole family loves them (even the wee ones). Cheater Note: I have also made this using Peanut Sauce from the store on occasion. Still super tasty and easy. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very refreshing & light! Due to being snowed in, I had to make use of what I had on hand. I used some leftover roasted chicken and cut it up. Sauteed the chicken with green onion and garlic, then added in the brown rice. We used a broccoli slaw salad mix with carrots. My 3 yo and 7 yo (who usually do not eat anything along this line) ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliekk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Fantastic! Very similar to my favorite appetizer at a popular Chinese chain restaurant. It's very kid-friendly to allow each person to make their wrap customized to their taste. The sauce was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Asian Grilled Chicken

See how to make a quick-and-easy marinade for tender grilled chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States