Asian Roll Lettuce Wrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
We loved this. It is little bit like taco night. To accomodae my son, who doesn't like rice, I also made Ramen noodles. I must admit that I liked the Ramen noodles better than the rice, though they are less healthy. The dipping sauce was awsome. Don't try his recipe substituting powdered garlic and powdered ginger - it won't have nearly the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I loved this! I used ground beef instead of turkey. I can't believe how much it tasted like ones I'd had at restaurants. My only complaint and it's tiny is that they are very salty. Not sure what I'll do but next time see if I can cut that taste down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
My roommate and I enjoyed this recipe. We added a bit of crushed red pepper to the turkey meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I've been making this recipe for the last several years since I first printed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
FABULOUS! Didn't change a thing with the recipe. I also had some chow mein noodles, crushed peanuts, and shredded/cooked carrots for topping. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I wasn't in a mood to be fussy and make meatballs, so I fried ground chicken mixture in peanut oil till done, added 2 c. leftover rice and heated. Then added ground vegetables to heat just a bit. I served this over shredded lettuce and made the dipping sauce into a salad dressing by adding peanut oil, a tad more sugar and substituted rice vinegar for the lemon juice. Lemon juice just didn't sound right for Asian food! It made a nice Asian salad. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I was excited to try this recipe, as I love restaurant lettuce wraps. It was okay, but not as good as I had hoped. I have to admit that the radishes I had were complete duds, lacking any flavor at all, so that might have made a difference. I had planned to follow some of the suggestions of the other reviewers, but cooking duties fell to DH for the evening, and he went by the recipe. Definitely, fry the meat and crumble it without making meatballs. We had the meat balls, and it made eating the wraps difficult. Also, I'll probably mix some of the soy/ginger sauce in with the meat mixture next time. Lastly, our market didn't have bib lettuce, so we used boston and it was too weak to accommodate the meal. We'll try this again with some variation on the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. I originally made it because we received turnips from our coop and it had high reviews...it is a keeper!! Great blend of textures, spices, and colors...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
absolutely wonderful! try out all of veggies (even if you think you dont like them) they all go really well together. the sauce is perfect! only downfall... we picked the wrong kind of lettuce, so the wraps tore a bit. we didn't use the skewers, just broiled the turkey ovals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Wow! This is tasty! I like it better with rice vinegar instead of lemon juice, and I do not make meatball skewers. I like to cook the ground turkey in a skillet with extra ginger and garlic (I always use extra garlic and ginger whenever they are called for in a recipe-YUM). The meat tastes delicious, the sauce is fantastic-the exact taste I was looking for in an Asian dipping sauce. However, the lettuce wrap is tricky. Maybe I should try a different lettuce, or perhaps shred the lettuce and use rice paper wraps? Either way, this combo tastes gooooood! I served it to my guy and his friend and they agreed. Only complaint is it is messy to eat in lettuce wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Spicy Chicken Lettuce Wraps

See how to make spicy, Asian-inspired chicken wraps.

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States