Asian Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This potato salad is awesome! At first glance it doesn't seem like the combination of ingredients would work, but they actually work beautifully. The bok choy and peppers add crunch, and the soy sauce adds just the right amount of saltiness. I used maple cured bacon which is a little less salty then regular smoked bacon, and it turned out great! I'm a cilantro lover, so I added cilantro according to the recipe however I think that those who don't care for the strong flavor of cilantro could easily substitute parsley and not miss a beat. This is a great recipe and I will be making it again and again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Very tasty and a fun change from regular potato salad. I didn't include the bacon and added celery. I like regular potato salad and will make that more often but this is a nice option when I need a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This turned out much better than expected. Delicious with Asian Tuna Patties and some pineapple chutney. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I can't stop eating this stuff! I omitted the cilantro - mine has been in the fridge for a week, and was looking pretty sorry - and I'm actually glad I did. The flavors work SO well. I'll definitely be making this again! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
What a great twist to potato salad! I left out the bacon and used a small squirt of regular yellow mustard instead of the dry mustard and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Awesome job with them taters there! And I'm a life-long non-potato eater, but when I saw this one, something in my brain made a 'ding' noise and I had to try it. I love all the ingredients, but my cilantro was in an even sorrier state (2 weeks in fridge) and was only able to use a scant amount of what was salvagable. My bacon was on it's way out too, so I doubled up on the bok choy and onions and omitted the salt since the soy sauce was included. Nice and spicy and definitely something I'll make for company or wherever I'm invited that says 'bring dish'. It'll be brought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I was a little hesitant to try this recipe because of the ingredients, but when I read the reviews I decided to give it a try; I'm really glad I did. The different flavors and textures worked really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Great taste and change from traditional potato salad. Flavors blend great. I served it with seared tuna steaks and it was a hugh hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This recipe is awesome!!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Wow! I taste tested this and I couldn't stop eating it... Well, Im from all over and have developed certain tastes' for certain items... I lived in the south and I love potato salad traditionally with yellow mustard, mayo, sweet pickles, chives... but I made Asian Flare Spare-Ribs...(recipe I will soon post) where I combined a couple different recipes to make my own delicious slow cooked ribs.. bo again being from south... I wanted potato salad with my ribs and this is a great Asian meal with a southern roots. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PridaFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States