Asian Pork Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is an awesome recipe!!!! I did make a couple slight changes I omitted the bell pepper cause I had none and the apple, I added some fresh garlic bout two teaspoons. Other than that followed the recipe and it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These are very delicious. I followed the recipe as written, other than that I cooked it on the George Foreman due to cold, wet weather. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
What an incredible blend of flavors!! Adapted, as others, to what I had on hand: omitted bell pepper, applesauce in place of cider, flour in place of bread crumbs. Added 1 TBSP minced garlic and teaspoon of all spice. I also substituted an apple chipotle sauce for the teriyaki, as I was anxious to try the chipotle sauce. Just the aroma was tantalizing! I look forward to grilling these burgers this summer, but this time they baked for 20-25 minutes on a broiler pan in a 400 degree oven, turned at 15 minutes, and broiled on high for an additional 2 mins on each side to brown the burgers slightly. Topped with slices of apple, additional chipotle sauce, and mozzarella for the last 2 minutes of broiling - though I would've preferred a sharp white cheddar in place of the mozzarella (but we had none on hand). I'm confident these would've been exceptional exactly as the recipe is written, but they were also easy to adapt to what was on hand, and DELICIOUS and so moist! (Served with side of chipotle sweet potato fries.) Thanks, Norm, for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Excellent recipe! I ground the pork myself with my stand mixer attachment and pushed the apples, bell pepper and onion through the grinder with the pork. The chilling of the patties is super important or they will fall apart. The first time I made this recipe, it turned into Asian inspired pork sloppy joes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Great recipe! I had to omit the bell peppers and soy sauce because I didn't have any, but other than that I made no changes. We topped our burgers with chopped cilantro, grated baby carrots, sliced onions and a bit of sriracha sauce to add to the Asian flair. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe! Great flavors, easy to follow, moist, and delicious. The only change I made was I had to use apple juice instead of apple cider since that's what I had on hand. I served mine with some PF Changs egg rolls and fried rice from the freezer section at the grocery. The whole family loved it, would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Watts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is a mind teaser. My head says it is a burger, but the taste buds say it is ribs. This is fantastic, but for me not something I'd eat as often as a regular burger. This is special & would be a treat. My husband asked if there was liquid smoke in it, nope. He couldn't believe either how much it tasted like good ribs. I didn't have apple cider so didn't use anything in its place, just left out. I really don't see what it could've added because they were very moist & you have to put in the freezer for the 30 min to keep them firm. We didn't know if you'd use ketchup on these or what. I'd recommend just butter the bun & crisp them up. We did try a little BBQ sauce on a bite or two & it still tasted like a good rib with BBQ sauce then. I'm still having a hard time getting my head around how teriyaki sauce, apple, red pepper, ginger & soy sauce, onion & bread crumbs come out like they did for the flavor. Sorry, can't say enough, so good & juicy with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Easy, Good burger. I always make extra pattys and throw them in the freezer for a lazy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but am going to tonight. I was looking for a ground pork recipe and stumbled upon this. It looks delicious. A suggestion for Mrs. J (who is gluten intolerant) - I too am gluten intolerant. When I have a recipe that requires breadcrumbs, I usually substitute them with either cooked quinoa or Udi's Gluten free Multigrain Bread. If I use the bread, I just crumble up slices to the amount required in the recipe. I even used it this year at Christmas to stuff my turkey, and nobody knew the difference. Hope this helps to make your recipe turn out the way it should when you try it again. Also, if you are gluten intolerant, you should check the labels on the teriyaki sauce and soya sauce. Soya sauce definitely has wheat in it. Anyhow, I'm looking forward to it. I couldn't submit my comment without giving it a rating, so for now it's 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I followed it to a tee, aside from using applesauce instead of diced apples. I always make mini burgers, and I chilled it just as long. As soon as I flipped the burgers they broke apart, and what I was able to salvage from the grill, I had to cook on the stove top. They disintegrated and I ended up making Asian pork sloppy joes. The flavor was good, but it seemed like they needed a hard sear in a pan in order for them to have retained shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States