Asian Pork Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is an awesome recipe!!!! I did make a couple slight changes I omitted the bell pepper cause I had none and the apple, I added some fresh garlic bout two teaspoons. Other than that followed the recipe and it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These are very delicious. I followed the recipe as written, other than that I cooked it on the George Foreman due to cold, wet weather. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This "Asian Pork Burger" recipe produced a delicious meatloaf! I am gluten intolerant, so I had to adapt the recipe to my needs. My first bad idea was to replace the breadcrumbs with an egg to use as a meat binder: the meat was so wet that there was no way I could form it into patties (so I even left out the apple cider). My second bad idea was to bake the meat mixture in a covered casserole dish: the meatloaf was "swimming" in 1 cup of jus after 1 hour in the oven. I put the meatloaf under the broiler to brown it up, and used 1 cup of strained jus from the meatloaf (along with some other Asian seasonings) to make a delicious gravy for the meatloaf. I believe that any issues that I had with the recipe were due to the fact that I omitted the breadcrumbs. I would not hesitate to use this recipe to make a meatloaf again: it was delicious! Thank you Norm Walker for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Excellent recipe! I ground the pork myself with my stand mixer attachment and pushed the apples, bell pepper and onion through the grinder with the pork. The chilling of the patties is super important or they will fall apart. The first time I made this recipe, it turned into Asian inspired pork sloppy joes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
What an incredible blend of flavors!! Adapted, as others, to what I had on hand: omitted bell pepper, applesauce in place of cider, flour in place of bread crumbs. Added 1 TBSP minced garlic and teaspoon of all spice. I also substituted an apple chipotle sauce for the teriyaki, as I was anxious to try the chipotle sauce. Just the aroma was tantalizing! I look forward to grilling these burgers this summer, but this time they baked for 20-25 minutes on a broiler pan in a 400 degree oven, turned at 15 minutes, and broiled on high for an additional 2 mins on each side to brown the burgers slightly. Topped with slices of apple, additional chipotle sauce, and mozzarella for the last 2 minutes of broiling - though I would've preferred a sharp white cheddar in place of the mozzarella (but we had none on hand). I'm confident these would've been exceptional exactly as the recipe is written, but they were also easy to adapt to what was on hand, and DELICIOUS and so moist! (Served with side of chipotle sweet potato fries.) Thanks, Norm, for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Great recipe! I had to omit the bell peppers and soy sauce because I didn't have any, but other than that I made no changes. We topped our burgers with chopped cilantro, grated baby carrots, sliced onions and a bit of sriracha sauce to add to the Asian flair. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Mantle
Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Easy, Good burger. I always make extra pattys and throw them in the freezer for a lazy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I followed it to a tee, aside from using applesauce instead of diced apples. I always make mini burgers, and I chilled it just as long. As soon as I flipped the burgers they broke apart, and what I was able to salvage from the grill, I had to cook on the stove top. They disintegrated and I ended up making Asian pork sloppy joes. The flavor was good, but it seemed like they needed a hard sear in a pan in order for them to have retained shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Made these last week. A very nice change of pace, but I agree with a previous reviewer - needs more teriyaki. The original recipe is pretty mild. I will make these again, but with kicked up teriyaki and more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I left out the red/green pepper but otherwise followed the recipe. My wife and I really enjoyed this and I will fix again. Half the patties started to break apart when I went to flip them as they were sticking to the grill a little bit. Next time I will use my bbq griddle to solve the problem. I poured a little bit of Teriyaki sauce on the burger the second time I fixed these and it added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States