Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
5 STARS - awesome as is, but less cornstarch or cooking sauce with starch and then adding to cooked chicken. Added green onion slices on top. Be great with steamed broccoli =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe on several occasions and every time people rave about it! It has great flavor, is sweet and tangy, and goes great over a rice. Only complaint is I seem to always have trouble getting the breading to stick to the chicken really well - no matter how much oil I put in the pan it still falls off. Other than that, this is an easy recipe loved by even picky eaters (like my brother) who "Don't like Asian foods"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JRogers05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Was WAY too sour!!! Next time will be adding extra brown sugar to bring out the sweetness of the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene Eidson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This recipe turned out fabulously! In fact, I had to make it two days in a row at the request of my four daughters. In my opinion, a lengthy marinade time isn't necessary. The flavor in the sauce is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Utterly delicious! I made it pretty much according to the recipe, and it was fantastic - not too much orange flavor (at least not for me), and more than enough sauce - even had some left over, so I cooked up more chicken the next day to use up the rest of the sauce. I also like the fact that you can mix the sauce ingredients ahead of time (as much as a day, I suppose) and then heat in a saucepan, thereby saving time on a busy weeknight. A helpful hint for using fresh ginger: I cut mine into small teaspoon-ish size pieces (don't even bother peeling), wrap them tightly in plastic wrap, and place them in the freezer. When a recipe calls for minced fresh ginger, I take a piece from the freezer and grate it with a microplane grater. It takes no time at all, and the ginger just melts into the sauce. Next time, I may try making more of a tempura-type batter for the chicken (cornstarch/water). I also think this recipe would be a great base for other flavors - for example, reduce the orange, add some hoisin/sriracha/chili paste/red chiles, and you have General Tso's. Thank you for sharing - I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I always get a great response when I cook this recipe. Make twice as much because they will be coming back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Land

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Delicious!! I didn't try to change anything but I often do because I don't always measure all ingredients. Either way it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schultzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Super yummy! This was my first attempt making my sons favorite "sticky" chicken ... This will not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
My family really enjoyed this recipe. Personally, I did not like the vinegar flavor and I think i would have prefered there to be more of an orangey flavor. The Sauce turned out too solid for me. However, my family put a star by it and they really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Tried it. Didn't have enough time to refrigerate for 2 hours. Came out with a little to much vinegar taste, but it was good with rice. Might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States