Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This sauce is amazing! I made just regular fried chicken amnd smothered it in this sauce and oh boy!tastes very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
My family loved this recipe. I used some of the tips people mentioned and I made it Gluten-Free. Key changes to the sauce: added 3/4 cup of chicken broth, 3/4 cup water and 1/4 cup pineapple juice, also added another teaspoon of lemon juice and added 2 tablespoons of dry sherry and 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger and the 3 cloves of minced garlic and didn't pack the brown sugar (and gluten-free soy sauce). I added some of the pieces of the orange I used and squeezed the juice. I used heated sesame oil and only 1 1/2 teaspoons of corn starch and cooked stirring for 5 minutes and then added the sauce and brought to a boil and this made a nice thickness for the sauce. For gluten-free chicken: I used 1 cup of Quinoa Flour and 1/3 cup potato starch and 1/4 teaspoon of Xantham gum. I also used the egg recommendation with water but dipped the chicken in the flour then in the egg and then back in the flour. I fried the chicken in 1/2 sesame oil and 1/2 sunflower oil. My family definitely wants this again and my 2 year old said MMMMM- yummy. The dish bursts with flavor. Note: Definitely double the sauce if you add vegetable or more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Sooooo good! I added 1 1/2 tsp baking powder to the flour mixture the second time I made this, and it made a huge difference - makes for a more substantial coating. Self-rising flour would yield the same result. The amount of cornstarch is perfect if you add the marinade back to the sauce after transferring the chicken to the flour mixture. (This is safe since the sauce is boiled again.) If you discard the marinade, decrease the amount of cornstarch. Once I brown the chicken, I put the skillet in the oven on the lowest temperature setting (170 degrees) while I finish the sauce separately on the stovetop. Store leftover chicken and sauce separately, per another reviewer's suggestion, and reheat the chicken on a cookie sheet to maintain crispiness. We love this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
The taste was good. Watch the corn starch when putting it into the sauce. Mine clumped up immediately, and I had to redo the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Just made this for dinner, though it got good comments from the family it seemed to take a lot of time to make for the end result. As with many other reviews, I used an egg and then corn flour to batter the chicken. As well as not adding as much corn flour to the sauce to thicken it but really I should have as it came out a bit too runny for our liking. Next time I make it I'm debating whether or not to use a deep fat fryer to get the chicken nice and crispy seeing as they weren't that crispy and the batter seemed a bit under cooked. Marinading the chicken for about three hours before hand really helped make the chicken lovely and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I liked the sauce in this recipe, but the way the chicken is prepared is not crispy and I prefer it crispy. I found a recipe last year that was perfect, but can't find it now. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The flavor was right on. However I agree with everyone...it's way too much cornstarch. Next time I will only use 2tbsp. I added steamed broccoli and sweet snap peas and toss at the end. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I added a few extra veggies to shine along with rice and paired with fresh "Fava Bean Salad" on this site. Restaurant quality dish. Oh and I didn't marinate the chicken at all, I just made the sauce and cooked the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This recipe is loved by everyone who tastes it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This was perfect in every way! Hubby said orange was a tad strong but I added a tad more zest in it. No big deal to adjust flavors! The chicken I found that if I add 1/4 Cup corn starch, I let the chicken sit in the mix until I got ready to fry. VERY crispy! This was WAY better than anything you can get at the store and I felt it was even better than our high end Chinese place up the road. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Hale Sawyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States