Asian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I thought this was good. I love mushrooms. Just curious as to why someone who says they do not like mushrooms would make mushroom soup? And then rate this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAMICHELLE1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was delicious! My husband said it was "awesome," which is rare. A helpful tip - use a bag of packaged coleslaw to cut down on prep time with the carrot and cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
this soup is so yummy and gets spicier as you eat it. we made it with no noodles, added vegetable stock, left some smaller mushrooms whole, left out the cabbage, and added bean sprouts. we also used left over chicken that had been cooked in barbeque sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Good tasting recipe but needed a little more broth and a few drops of Vietnamese hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Breda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I like everything about this recipe except the mushrooms - I admit that I am not much of a mushroom fan, but three cups are WAY too much imo. Also, I used mostly shittakes, and I have decided that their taste is too strong for me. I wish I'd made a trip to the Japanese grocers and got enoki 'shrooms - I really like their delicate flavor and crunchy texture. I probably won't make this again, but thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Having just purchased a beautiful assortment of mushrooms, I wanted to make mushroom soup and found this recipe. I usually have to majorly doctor up recipes for taste, but this one is good. The soup is so versitle, so my changes were minor--Used shrimp instead of chicken and added hot sauce. Also used more broth. I am living in China at the moment and this is as good as I've eaten in any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I didn't have the chicken on-hand, so I made mine vegetarian with veggie broth and added white onion, articoke, celery. I also used rice noodles instead of the recommended. I would say this is a great, fresh-tasting Asian soup that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
They were very tasty if u add half a pound of cat, poor speckles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was very good. I wouldn't hesitate to serve it to company. It tasted like the soups served in Japanese restaurants. I made it with dried and rehydrated shiitake mushrooms I had cooked a few days earlier and left soaking in broth (4 cups water, 1 tablespoon of soy sauce). I used the shiitake broth (not chicken broth) to make this soup. The shiitake mushrooms were "meaty", so I could have easily turned this recipe into a vegetarian soup by leaving out the chicken. I will do that next time I need a good, interesting lunch to serve vegetarian friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was good right after making but was outstanding as leftovers, same as most any soup. I used sherry instead of mirin and added some enoki mushrooms as well. Used Korean soy sauce with kelp extract (much lower sodium than regular low sodium, 285 vs 575). As leftovers I added "Pot Stickers, Traditional" instead of udon and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States