Asian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I thought this was good. I love mushrooms. Just curious as to why someone who says they do not like mushrooms would make mushroom soup? And then rate this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAMICHELLE1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was delicious! My husband said it was "awesome," which is rare. A helpful tip - use a bag of packaged coleslaw to cut down on prep time with the carrot and cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
this soup is so yummy and gets spicier as you eat it. we made it with no noodles, added vegetable stock, left some smaller mushrooms whole, left out the cabbage, and added bean sprouts. we also used left over chicken that had been cooked in barbeque sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Good tasting recipe but needed a little more broth and a few drops of Vietnamese hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Breda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Having just purchased a beautiful assortment of mushrooms, I wanted to make mushroom soup and found this recipe. I usually have to majorly doctor up recipes for taste, but this one is good. The soup is so versitle, so my changes were minor--Used shrimp instead of chicken and added hot sauce. Also used more broth. I am living in China at the moment and this is as good as I've eaten in any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
They were very tasty if u add half a pound of cat, poor speckles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I like everything about this recipe except the mushrooms - I admit that I am not much of a mushroom fan, but three cups are WAY too much imo. Also, I used mostly shittakes, and I have decided that their taste is too strong for me. I wish I'd made a trip to the Japanese grocers and got enoki 'shrooms - I really like their delicate flavor and crunchy texture. I probably won't make this again, but thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I didn't have the chicken on-hand, so I made mine vegetarian with veggie broth and added white onion, articoke, celery. I also used rice noodles instead of the recommended. I would say this is a great, fresh-tasting Asian soup that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was good right after making but was outstanding as leftovers, same as most any soup. I used sherry instead of mirin and added some enoki mushrooms as well. Used Korean soy sauce with kelp extract (much lower sodium than regular low sodium, 285 vs 575). As leftovers I added "Pot Stickers, Traditional" instead of udon and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
It was good but didn't stay very well in the fridge after a couple days it felt...slimy? Immediately after I made it, though, it was delicious. Maybe I need to freeze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALonis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States