Asian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Definitely needed more than 4 cups chicken stock, ended up adding almost 4 cups of water. Also, I used mushroom soy sauce instead and added some dumplings. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
So this did not turn out nearly as good as I expected- the base of the soup was completely lacking. As per other reviews, I added more broth and actually used a combination of chicken broth and reconstituted shitake mushroom broth. I ended up adding 2 T of sesame oil and 1/4 cup of sherry and 1 tsp of sugar, which made a HUGE difference..along with a little extra garlic and ginger. I think possibly making a ginger syrup would work better as this could add the sweetness and depth while also bringing forth the ginger flavor. After all is said and done, it's a DECENT soup, but leaves much room for improvement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Good soup,I made is as stated but used turkey meat instead...changed the flavor some but it was still good. Be sure to add the noodles very close to the end... if you let the soup simmer with them in, it gets thick and milky looking... it still tasted good but the texture was off. Also next time I'll sautee the ginger, garlic and mushrooms in butter or oil first then add the other ingredients. The mushrooms' flavor didn't come out as strong as I'd have liked, hopefully sauteeing them will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klfelt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I have made this recipe dozens of times, both as written and with whatever I have on hand, and it is always just perfect. We love the sour tanginess! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Great soup, added more broth and replaced white cabbage with purple cabbage, Had great flavor and appeals to the eye with all the different colors. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I followed the instructions exactly, (leaving out only the chicken and spinach) and it was a very disappointing soup. I ate one bowl and threw out the rest. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My husband especially loved the flavor of this soup. The mushrooms make the broth very rich. I drizzled a little sesame oil on the top of each serving, which added a nice layer of flavor. Make your own chicken broth if you have time -- less salty, more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillbert40
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Gave this a 5 because it is far better than any restaurant chinese soup I've tried. Used rice sticks for the noodles and did have to add extra chicken broth. Added a little finely chopped red and yellow bell peppers simply to brighten it up. Wonderful flavor. See my photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillbert40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosamond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COZY CUISINE
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was a very nice soup. Easy adjustment for low carbers...just leave the noodles out. I didn't add the spinach at the end because there were plenty of the other ingredients. Very filling and guilt free.. But you absolutely need more broth or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I came across this recipe while searching for a soup with spinach in it. I happened to have the other ingredients, so I'm glad I tried it. I used dried shiitake mushrooms (soaked them first in hot water), and pre-shredded cabbage. I bought the mirin along time ago, but this was the first time I used it. The taste was impressive. Nothing like I imagined it might taste. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States